T – 3 Days to Race Day

I’m alive! I’m alive! Grad school has been sucking up all my free time, but I promised to pop by when I could so here I am. The last time we spoke I was just running lightly, well fast forward 5 months and I am in depths of half-marathon training and have my first big race of the year in 10 days, the Tely 10. My most favourite race of all time (not that I’ve run many) but I love the course and the support on the road!

 

IMG_0331

 

 

Training for this race hasn’t been easy, between school, a trip to Pennsylvania/New York to visit family and Toronto to see Taylor Swift, and trying to come back slowly from my injury to 10 miles has been trying. My trip in a few pictures:

 

 

Chautauqua, New York 

IMG_1207

Toronto Island, Toronto 

IMG_1263

Glass Floor CN Tower, Toronto

IMG_1278

CN Tower, Toronto

IMG_1441

Taylor Swift, Toronto

Overall, I have been coming back slowly and I have been doing it SMART! I have been alternating running with other activities, strength training, foam rolling, stretching and physio exercises. I am also not running this race with a PR in mind, I want to finish and I have my eye on my goal race of a half-marathon in September. So I still have 8 weeks of training to go for that following this race!

 

So here I am 3 days out from a 10 mile race and the furthest I have run is just over 8 miles. Last night I did YIN hot yoga to stretch, I have a massage booked tomorrow, and 2 easy runs to go. I am excited but ready for this race and if I don’t PR I will just be happy to finish. That being said, as any runner, I still have a secret time goal in mind. I’ll let you know next week if I achieved it. 🙂

 

Anyone else running the Tely or another race this weekend? How has your training been? 

One thought on “T – 3 Days to Race Day

  1. Good luck at your race! Injuries are the worst 😦 But it sounds like you are moving forward from it and with that extra excitement you may just surprise yourself! Hope it all goes great! 🙂

Leave a Reply

