Resolution Run 5K, New Year’s Eve and 2013 Goals

On New Year’s Eve I ran the Running Room Resolution Run 5K with Bruce’s sister and my friend Sarah. It was a great way to kick off the new year! 🙂 I ran it for fun due to only starting running again 3 weeks ago but I still managed to put a little bit of a push on towards the end. I didn’t love the course, apparently it was different last year but I found it had too many turns and it was a double loop which I hate. I don’t know the official term for it but we had to come back to the start and do the loop again which is mentally draining. I also stepped in a puddle during the first loop so my right foot was cold and wet the entire time. Anyways I finished in 33:23 which I am happy with given the circumstances. I don’t think I’ll be doing this race again next year though. I didn’t love the course and then when I finished I was in too much of a rush getting ready for New Year’s festivities. BUT I love the idea of running on New Year’s so I will probably just run my own Resolution Run in the morning. : ) 

 

 

My New Year’s Eve consisted of an amazing meal (tenderloin and tons of sides) and champagne and fireworks with friends and family. It was my favourite New Year’s yet. : ) 

 

2013 Resolutions 

This year I have decided not to have a huge list of arbitrary resolutions but just a few main things I really want to accomplish and work on. 

1. Run a half-marathon 

2. Strength train twice a week 

3. Yoga once a week 

4. PR in the 5K 

5. Blog consistently 

6. Unplug more, connect in real life, reduce stress and just enjoy every second. (should be easy right?)

 

So here’s to 2013 and just hoping for a healthy happy year! : ) 

 

 

What did you do New Year’s Eve? 

What are your goals for 2013? 

Anyone run a New Year’s Race? 

3 thoughts on “Resolution Run 5K, New Year’s Eve and 2013 Goals

  1. I’ve got a matching jacket!!! I attempted the Resolution Run in London ON but it didn’t go as well as yours – clearly not over my injury yet but the jacket is pretty sweet 🙂

Leave a Reply

