2012 – A Year In Review

How is it possible another year has gone by? I am mind blown at how quickly this Christmas has gone by and now it’s New Year’s Eve again. Wow. It’s been a great year – but I will say there have probably been more ups and downs this year then ever. If I could sum it up in one word – BUSY! If I could change one thing about this year it would be to slow down, not that I didn’t enjoy every moment but it would have been nice to breathe once in a while. : ) With that being said lets take a trip down memory lane and look at some of my favourite moments and review the resolutions I made last year

 

Crossing the finish line at the Tely 10 – this was a huge goal of mine for many years and I am so glad I finally did it! 

 

 

Our trip to Florida and Cruise around the Eastern Caribbean – probably the only time this year I was semi-relaxed. haha

 

Turning 26 years old – I am officially over half way through my 20’s. But it sure was a great birthday!

 

Best party I threw all year – Bruce’s 30th Birthday “A Roaring 20’s Gala”. I put so much into this party and it was a BLAST! 

 

Aside from finishing the Tely, the Run for Freedom 8K was also another race I loved. 

 

One of the best meals I had all summer was the Lighthouse picnic – we actually did something touristy at home for once and I really enjoyed it. 

 

Passed my NKE for my Canadian Human Resources Professional designation! YAY! 

Got into graduate school! : ) 

Fell in love with hot yoga….it was one of the few times this year I was able to relax and breathe. 

 

 

Like I said it was a whirlwind of a year! Now lets review my resolutions I set last year: 

1. Run a half-marathon – Not Achieved. 

The longest distance I achieved this year was the Tely 10 and I pushed through that injured. After the Tely I tried unsuccessfully to keep it up but my injury was too far gone at this point and I stopped running on Aug 26. I made some changes and did a whole lot of physio and got the okay to run again on Dec 9. It’s been a long road but I am happy to say I am feeling great now and hope to achieve this goal in 2013. 

 

2. Guest blog – Not Achieved. 

I was a slacker this year on my blog! I had lots of guest bloggers myself but never took the initiative to guest blog for someone else. I hope to continue blogging more in 2013 but I know I will never be a daily poster. I just need to develop some consistency! 🙂 

 

3. Heal my IT band fully – Achieved. 

I put in a lot of work to get my back and legs healed this year. I learned to love my foam roller and strength training and I am happy to say my IT bands benefited from it! 

 

4. Have a professional sneaker fitting – Achieved. 

This was something I am so glad I did and encourage every runner to do! I love my asics and just ordered another pair a few days ago. 

 

5. PR in the 5k – Not achieved.

I am running a 5k at 5pm this evening – my last race of 2012, the Resolution Run! That being said I am not expecting to PR due to the fact that I only started running again 3 weeks ago. My goal this evening is to have fun and run with friends. This is the only 5K I signed up for this year, 2012 was the year of the injury(s). I am hoping this race kicks off a great year of running for 2013. 

 

6. Get my own blog domain that doesn’t end in .wordpress – Not Achieved. 

Not achieved but working on it – will hopefully happen next year. 

 

7. Organize and clean out my office – Achieved. 

This lifted a lot of mental weight off my shoulders to get this accomplished before starting school next week. I can’t work in clutter and now everything is organized. 


8. Go meatless once a week – Achieved. 

I didn’t keep a record but I think I accomplished this for sure and hope to continue it into 2013. I really feel like taking meat out of my diet once a week is great for my health and I also have some other nutrition changes I’d like to make in 2013. 


9. Try a new fitness class – Achieved. 

Spinning and hot yoga – both of which I am now in love with! 

 

10. Attend at least one professional development event – Achieved. 

I attended several and became a CHRP candidate. In professional development this year, I kicked ass. 


11. Run 1000 miles – Not Achieved. 

After today’s race I will have run 395 miles. If you include elliptical miles then I did a total of 691 miles. Given my injuries and having to take over 3 months off, Ill take it. 

 

 

I achieved over half my resolutions which I think is pretty good! I have a lot more goals I want to accomplish next year. I know 2013 will be a great year, I cannot wait to see what it has in store for me. I hope YOU have an amazing New Years and spend it with those you love. Happy Holidays and Happy New Years and I wish you all the best in 2013. 🙂 

 

Did you accomplish all your goals in 2012? 

What are your resolutions for 2013? 

Leave a Reply

