It’s Never Easy

I wish I could say this time off from running has been easy, but it hasn’t. I thought I’d be off for a month maybe and now it’s been 3 exactly (my last run was Aug 26). I had a really bad few weeks leading up to this past week. Unfortunately my physiotherapist got sick and was put off work for 2 months so in the last 3 weeks I hadn’t seen anyone and then was switched to one of her colleagues who wants to take an all new approach with my back injury. I left the appointment frustrated not because I had to switch physiotherapists, but because of my lack of progress. 

 

I thought about it a lot that day and decided I could be upset and frustrated or I could make up my mind to see the brighter side. My new physiotherapist assured me that this is fixable, but it’s an old injury and old injuries are never easy to fix. Clearly the other approach wasn’t working for me so it’s a blessing in disguise that I get to see another person with a fresh perspective. I am still not allowed to run because my back is still unstable, so I could keep whining about that or I could use this time to do a bunch of different workouts and have fun. I hate the elliptical but I know it’s a necessary evil if I want to maintain fitness but I can also use this time to cross train. I have been doing that since August but it’s just I thought by now I’d be back to running. I’m not and that’s disappointing so I slacked off the last few weeks but not anymore. After my appointment last week I got my act together and had a great week of workouts. No one ever said healing a 7 year old injury would be easy, but I know in the end it will be worth it. 

 

Monday I did an easy elliptical workout for 3 miles in 30 minutes while watching TV, my favourite way to get through elliptical time! Tuesday I did a 4 mile in 40 minute elliptical progression workout again while watching TV, hey whatever it takes! Wednesday I attended my first aqua jogging class and it was actually a great workout, I take back all jokes about water aerobics classes! It was a lot harder then I thought it would be so I was happy I tried it and will be back for sure. Thursday I went and spun my heart out at spinning, I pushed myself and felt great. Friday I woke bright and early for a interval session on the elliptical and did 4 miles in 40 minutes. I forgot how much I love working out in the morning, I feel like it starts my day on the right foot. That night I attended my favourite hot yoga class, it was a great start to both a fun and productive weekend. I got a LOT accomplished this weekend and had a lot of fun, I rested both Saturday and Sunday and I am now ready to take on this week, bring it. : ) 

 

This week’s plan:  

Mon: 30 – 40 min easy elliptical + Body Pump 

Tues: Progression elliptical

Wed: Aqua jogging class 

Thurs: Spinning + Body Pump 

Fri: Interval elliptical + hot yoga 

Sat: Walk or easy elliptical 

Sun: Rest 

 

How was your workout week? 

Do anything fun the weekend? 

Leave a Reply

