Hot (Yoga) Love

A while back I mentioned that I had finally tried hot yoga and that I would be blogging about it. Well I thought now was a fitting time to write the post as I have finished my unlimited month and have continued attending classes at least once a week since then! I have been attending hot yoga at a Moksha studio here and St. John’s. I absolutly love it and have learned so much about myself from practicing hot yoga, here are just a few of the many things I have learned over the past few months: 

 

You can never own enough towels – honestly I can’t believe the dramatic change in the amount of towels I go through since starting hot yoga.

Being present – one teacher in particular really makes you think with the things he talks about during class mainly during shavasana he talks about letting go and just being there in the moment and by some miracle I am able to just that. 

Relaxation is key – I used to go to yoga to stretch out my muscles from running, I now go to get a little peace and quiet during my hectic week. For that time I am completely relaxed and enjoying the quiet and the moment. 

Sweating has never been so cleansing – I never knew how clean you could feel after sweating THAT much. 

My hips are insanely tight – no matter how many times I stretch them they are still tight. Therefore I have decided my favourite poses are pigeon and thread the needle. 

I’m not as good as I thought I was – doing yoga in 40+ degrees makes it a lot harder. I always thought I was flexible but this has been an incredibly humbling experience for me. I struggle and it’s hard but I am okay with that, it’s a judgement free zone in the studio. One day I’ve mastered something and the next day I am back to square one with it, it’s always a work in progress which is what makes it so challenging. 

It has made living with a running injury bearable – it has actually helped my back in my opinion in terms of developing my core strength and weak glutes. Aside from the physical benefit I also I have a lot of anxiety about not being able to run and I have found redirecting the energy into yoga has helped me come to terms with the fact that I am injured, but that as with anything this to shall pass. 

The most important thing I have learned from hot yoga is to just relax and make time for yourself. I now view yoga very differently then I did a few months ago, I find it takes away all anxiety and just relaxes me entirely when I leave. I feel like a better person, ready to take on whatever may come my way. 

 

Have you tried hot yoga? Any particular style? 

What is your favourite pose? 

One thought on “Hot (Yoga) Love

  1. Pingback: 2012 – A Year In Review « The Balance Project

Leave a Reply

