Party Like It’s Prohibition: A Roaring 20’s Gala

Last Saturday night we celebrated Bruce’s 30th Birthday with a theme party, I love a good theme! Smile The theme was a roaring 20’s gala to celebrate the end of his 20’s! We had everyone dress 20’s style, it was a fabulous time and everyone looked amazing. I don’t know how anyone planned anything before Pinterest. haha All my little detail ideas came from there and I am so excited to share them with you all. Smile Lets jump in!

 

The invitation I created myself in Microsoft Publisher, I downloaded the fonts from dafont they are called Upper East Side and Riesling.

 

InviteEdit

 

I rented out a local bar to give us tons of room. It of course had a rental feeling to it but I did my best to give it a 20’s feel with all black and white decorations with colourful tea lights on each table and the lights off to give the room that dark prohibition feel (lights on still below). Each table also had a deck of cards on it, for a game of black jack of course! Winking smile We played 20’s music throughout the night mixed in with lots of modern tunes as well.

 

IMG_0908

 

For food I went strictly 2012, with the usual fruit, veggie, cookies, sandwich and cheese trays. Plus hot appetizers including wings, stew and rolls, meatballs, buffalo chicken egg rolls and philly cheesesteak egg rolls. As usual I made sure no one left hungry!

 

IMG_0907

 

The custom sign was generously made by a friend of Bruce’s who owns a sign shop. He did such a great job!

 

IMG_0912

 

Of course no party is complete without an amazing cake, this one was no exception! (pictures of the cake table and cake below) The sign with quote from Humphrey Bogart was an idea from Pintrest that I recreated. I also framed the invitation for everyone to sign as a keepsake to remember his 30th birthday, I am going to hang it in our bar (the mat that I used for signing was from Micheal’s)!

 

InviteEdit

 

IMG_0910

The Problem With The World Is That Everyone Is A Few Drinks Behind – Humphrey Bogart

IMG_0911

 

 

IMG_0971a

I accidently left my camera on a panoramic setting as you can tell! Smile Opps!

 

The absolute highlight of the night was the photobooth I set up. Bruce’s sister is a photographer and also made the cake, she was an amazing help to me with this party! I was so excited when she agreed to do a photobooth. Everyone went through so much trouble to get dolled up that I thought it would be great if they had a professional picture to remember the night with – needless to say it was a hit! Smile 

 

IMG_0988a

 

IMG_0999a

 

IMG_1032a

 

IMG_1040a

 

Those are just a few of the 150 + pictures she took! Smile It was such a laugh I bought tons of fun props and the background is actually a black shower curtain believe it or not. haha I didn’t want to risk one of her professional backgrounds getting damaged!

 

This party was a ton of work in all honestly but you only turn 30 once and I wanted to make sure he remembered it! I am so pleased with how it turned out and though it was a lot of work it was also a lot of fun to plan. I love getting into the details of things – I think it really makes a regular party more special!

 

We danced, we ate, we laughed and we ate cake. An amazing night with amazing friends and family! Smile 

 

ab8977c0001811e2b19422000a1e9dd4_7

 

How did you celebrate your 30th? Or other milestone birthday?

Ever attend a roaring 20s party?

One thought on “Party Like It’s Prohibition: A Roaring 20’s Gala

  1. Pingback: 2012 – A Year In Review « The Balance Project

Leave a Reply

