Bacalao – Newfoundland Cuisine With A Twist

Late last week we celebrated Bruce’s mom’s birthday by going out to dinner at local restaurant Bacalao. I have to say I was pleasantly surprised. I had been to Bacalao once before for brunch a few years ago and wasn’t impressed. However, dinner was a whole other experience.

I started off with a glass of Italian Pinot Grigo – it was perfect. Not too dry not too sweet just the way I like it.

 

20120903-132451.jpg

 

For my appetizer I had Bacalao fritters – breaded salt cod with potatoes and a small salad on the side. It was perfect, I was concerned it would be too salty but it wasn’t at all. They were very flavorful.

 

20120903-132605.jpg

 

For my main I had Penne and Moose sausage pasta. It was a huge portion but I managed to eat all of it. The sausage was a pleasant change from the normal pork sausage. It was complimented perfectly with a spicy sauce, I asked for mine to be cooked to medium spiciness and I would hate to try hot, it was SPICY! 🙂

 

20120903-132654.jpg

 

 

Overall I really enjoyed our visit to Bacalao, I will definelty be back.

Any locals try Bacalao before? Thoughts?

Anyone every try moose or salt cod? I think they’re a mostly Newfoundland thing!

Bacalao - Nouvelle Newfoundland Cuisine on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

