September – A Month of Change

I have always loved September, it’s a month of transition and change. It feels like a fresh start with a fresh season, more so then any other time of year. There’s nothing like change to get you refreshed and motivated about life. In fact, I’m making a few changes.

My knees have not been happy for a long time. Ever since I hyper extended them they have not been the same. I can ignore them all I want but it’s not going away. Last Monday I did my usual body pump and run in the evening and it hurt so bad. I have created a cycle, mileage increases, strength training, yoga, and cross training decrease, I get injured, I go to physio while running through pain, I get better and I start the cycle all over again.

There’s only so many times one can go through the same thing over and over get the same results and go though it again. I’m frustrated and I’m done with repeating my mistakes over and over. So I’m making some changes.

20120901-133520.jpg

I haven’t run since Monday – I’ve swam, gone to spinning, hiked, walked, gone to hot yoga and strength trained. Exercise is a huge part of my life and I’m not giving that up, I’m just changing things up a bit. Next week I won’t be running either, I will be going back to physio and trying to heal my knees and alignment issues that keep causing my leg problems. I am going to heal and I am going to run this fall, my favorite time of year to run, but I’m not going to run until I’m pain free.

20120901-132856.jpg

When I do return to running it will be no more then 5 days a week, with time built in for cross-training, strength training and my new obsession hot yoga. I originally planned on a fall half marathon this year but that’s probably not going to happen now. However, I hopefully have another 10k left in me that I hope to run this fall, pain free and happy.

Anyone take a running or any sort of break from exercise?

Anyone else love the fall as much as me?

7 thoughts on “September – A Month of Change

  1. I go through a very similar cycle with my knee pain! I gave up running for the summer to try to fully heal but I miss it dreadfully! September is a month of new beginnings and I agree, fall is the best time to run! I plan to start up again shortly. Good luck with your new plan!

      • It worked out well with the chaotic summer I had BUT it has felt like ages since I’ve laced up! Last time I ran was the May long weekend when I completed an 8km fun run with my dad & niece – I’m totally ready to get back into it starting this upcoming week 🙂 Life just isn’t the same without running!

      • I bet, I’ve only gone 5 days and I feel like I’m in withdrawal so I can only imagine how you feel! 🙂 A break is never a bad thing though and at least you enjoyed your summer.

  2. Pingback: A Resolution « The Balance Project

  3. Pingback: 2012 – A Year In Review « The Balance Project

Leave a Reply

