On Losing Motivation

I’ve been an absent blogger a lot this summer, the reality of the situation is I’ve been busy and loving it! I have a lot of fun things to recap though so stick around! : ) The other problem? Since my last race The Tely 10 my motivation for exercise disappeared big time. I took a week off, then I got the flu, and then I got lazy. I’m not afraid to say it! I was too busy having fun and bored with my routine. My knees are still not great, which didn’t help my motivation either.

 

This week I got sick of excuses and decided to change my mindset and switch things up. I decided to switch out one of my running days for a cross-training day that will be something different each week. Last week I went swimming. I also added back in 2 days of strength training in the form of body pump. The last 2 weeks I have been pushing myself really hard in class and loving it. Finally, last night I tried hot yoga for the first time and fell in love. I was so sweaty by the end of class but yet so relaxed, it was amazing.

 

I needed a change and a little more variety. I love running but I need a little more variety in my workouts to keep me challenged and excited to get out the door. This week I ran a total of 16 miles, 2 classes of body pump, and a hot yoga class and I am proud! I feel like I’ve got my groove back! Smile It just goes to show how important variety is when it comes to exercise!!

 

IMG_0779

 

I can feel the fall coming – the air is just a little cooler and it feels like change! But as I’ve learned this week there’s nothing wrong with a little change, it’s can be good for you.

 

What exciting plans do you have for the end of summer?

What have you done recently to change things up!

Leave a Reply

