WIAW: The Regatta Edition

It has been a LONG time since I participated in WIAW. But I have loved reading everyone else’s posts. I had some interesting new eats today so I thought it would be a good time to bring back my old Wednesday tradition! Smile

 

 

I started my day off with a pretty boring egg-white sandwich, it was tasty but I need new breakfast ideas. I didn’t even bother taking a picture because you’ve seen it a thousand times. After body pump followed by a run I whipped up a smoothie with almond milk, bananas, strawberries, blueberries, chia seeds, spinach and ice! What a yummy post-workout drink!

 

Once I was showered Bruce and I headed down to the Regatta, we got a holiday today for the oldest sporting event in North America. I am a former rower myself so I love to catch the races! Smile It was a beautiful day for it. So we hopped on the bus and hit the lakeside for some sun, races, and Indian food!

 

photo (32)

 

I had a samosa, potato curry and basmati rice. It was all amazing and so filling! Plus there is nothing that says summer more to me then sitting lakeside watching the races in the sunshine and eating! Smile 

 

After getting our share of sun we headed home, but after a heavy lunch I couldn’t stomach the thought of a heavy dinner so soup and sandwich sounded amazing. I made this broccoli, chicken and cheddar soup (recipe below) and a turkey sandwich with pickles. The soup was amazing, without the usual cream found in broccoli soup I found it light! Trust me it tasted much better then it looks.

 

photo (30)

 

Broccoli, Chicken, and Cheddar Soup Serves 4

  • 1 yellow onion
  • EVOO
  • 1 small chicken breast
  • 2 large heads of broccoli (4 – 5 cups)
  • 3 cups reduced sodium chicken broth
  • 1 cup reduced sodium beef broth
  • roasted pepper and garlic seasoning
  • 1/2 cup shredded light cheddar
  • salt and pepper

 

Cook the chicken (seasoned with roasted pepper and garlic seasoning) in the EVOO with onions until cooked thoroughly. Remove the chicken and chop it up into small pieces then set it aside. Add broth and broccoli to onions and bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer covered for 10 minutes. Once broccoli is cooked start adding batches of the soup to the blender and blend until smooth. It took me about 3 batches to get it all done. Add puréed soup back to pan, add chicken pieces in and bring to a boil again. Serve hot topped with cheddar cheese!

 

What’s your favourite breakfast? I need ideas!

Any rowers reading?

What’s your favourite summer soup?

2 thoughts on “WIAW: The Regatta Edition

  1. My good friend is a radio reporter in St. Johns and she was covering the Regatta! That’s cool that it’s such an old sporting event!

Leave a Reply

