Birthday Celebrations

Yesterday I turned 26 years young, it was such a great day! I love a Saturday Birthday, I had the entire day to do whatever I felt like. I started my day off with a trip to Starbucks to get my birthday coffee and then headed to the local farmer’s market to drink my coffee and browse. We looked at lots of great stuff and got some fresh cinnamon mini donuts! Mmmmm.

 

photo (28)

 

After that we headed home and just relaxed all afternoon around the house which was nice. After dinner 2 of my girl friends came over and we got all dolled up for my party!

 

IMG_0477

 

IMG_0485

 

It was such a great night – great friends, dancing, and of course great food. I have a new appetizer recipe to share with you all!

 

Philly Cheesesteak Egg Rolls (makes about 25)

  • 1 stir-fry type steak (sirloin tip is what I used)
  • 1 bell pepper
  • 1/2 cup shredded white cheddar cheese
  • 1 clove of garlic
  • 1 tsp onion powder
  • 25 egg roll wrappers
  • EVOO
  • Canola or vegetable oil for frying
  • Salt and pepper

 

Defrost egg roll wrappers if frozen. Salt and pepper then fry steak in EVOO until cooked thoroughly. Remove from pan and slice into very thin strips about 1 inch long and thin! While slicing steak fry peppers in pan that the meat came from adding in garlic and onion powder. Once steak is sliced add it back into pan and mix it all together. Once pepper is cooked add oil to a large pan for frying and heat over medium heat. Then start an assembly line of cheese and steak mixture. Add in a spoonful of steak and a spoonful of cheese into each wrapper. Wet either side of the egg roll wrapper, bend in the edges, and roll to seal the edges. I keep a little bowl of water nearby for this purpose.

 

Fry egg roll on both sides about 4 – 5 minutes. Be careful not to let the rolls burn and keep adding more oil as needed. You can serve these right away or refrigerate to serve the next night like I did. To reheat turn the oven on 375 and bake them for about 15 – 20 minutes. These were such a huge hit I didn’t get to snap a picture before they were gone! Make these at your next party they are sure to please.

 

Overall I had an amazing birthday. 25 was a great year for me – I am excited to see what 26 brings!

Posted in Me

One thought on “Birthday Celebrations

  1. Pingback: 2012 – A Year In Review « The Balance Project

Leave a Reply

