Training Recap & Workout Plan Mar 12 – 18

I did it again, I disconnected and ignored the world all weekend. This time I didn’t even have internet access. We headed out of town Friday and just got back this evening and it was lovely. I finished a book and read the entirety of another, I started Mile Markers by Kristin Armstrong and could not put it down. It was amazing and every woman who runs should read it. I’ll do a full review this week. Anyways other then that I ran, napped, and ate this weekend. It was exactly what I needed. I purposely took the last 2 weekends off from life because I have a lot of hectic weekends coming up! They will be fun for sure but I just needed a little down time! Smile 

 

I had a great training week, it started on Monday with my usual elliptical. I did 3.5 miles in 35 minutes. Tuesday I had a great morning run outside, I really enjoyed it. I did the entire 40 minutes at easy pace though, forgetting entirely that it was supposed to be an interval workout. Opps! I’ll learn to read my schedule more closely next time. I did 3.7 miles in 4o minutes and then headed to work happy and very awake!

 

2012-03-06 07.31.53

Wednesday I worked from home because of a blizzard. Thankfully it cleared up in the evening and I made it out for 2.8 miles in 30 minutes. I spent a lot of the time trying to find clear roads so it wasn’t an enjoyable run but I got it done. Thursday was a half treadmill / half elliptical workout. I did a total 3. 7 miles in 40 minutes between the two. I was feeling stressed out and tense before I started, the run really helped me shake it off. I did a body flow class after with my favourite instructor which was exactly what the doctor ordered.

 

Friday as usual was a rest day. Saturday we were out of town so I ran around Fox Harbour managing 4 miles in 42 minutes. I was so happy, that was the longest distance I have run in a long time. It was pretty chilly out so when I got back to the house I had a hot shower and a hot cup of coffee. Seriously, there is nothing better then a hot shower and coffee after a long cold Saturday run. I promptly fell asleep while reading Mile Markers shortly after. Smile Pure bliss.

Sunday was supposed to be another half outside / half elliptical workout. I didn’t have access to an elliptical where I was so I opted to do the whole thing outside. I did 4.7 miles in 50 minutes, I had planned to do 5 miles but started getting some cramping in my quad towards the end so I decided not to try my luck (or my IT bands). It was still a great run though, again I got back to the house and did the same shower, coffee, nap routine. It was once again AMAZING! I just love running seaside. Smile

 

2012-03-10 15.33.24

 

Overall, GREAT week. 24 miles total 18 of them running plus 60 minutes of yoga! I missed strength training this week due to the blizzard so the plan is to get it in early this week! Smile Here is the plan:

Type Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday  Sunday
Run (Minutes)   40 min 30 min     30 min REST
Elliptical / Arc (Min) 20 min     40 min 30 Min    
Class      Body Pump Body Flow   Body Pump  

 

 

Hopefully this week is as good as last week. Seems like I am FINALLY getting in a good block of spring training. Hopefully it keeps up! Smile 

What’s your after workout weekend routine?

Did you do anything fun this weekend? Share!

Best book you’ve read recently? I always like to add things to my “to read” list!

One thought on “Training Recap & Workout Plan Mar 12 – 18

Leave a Reply

