Training Recap and Workout Plan Mar 5 – 11

What a week, what a week. Smile I took a little blogging break this weekend. I relaxed big time – I ate well, exercised, read, and cooked. It was lovely! I am trying to take it easy on the partying for the next couple weeks while I ramp my mileage up again. I need to be in top shape! Anyways it was for the most part a great training week.

 

It started off Monday and Tuesday with elliptical workouts, 3 miles and 3.5 miles respectively. They weren’t bad but they weren’t all that exciting either. Wednesday I had planned to run outside but it was –8 Celsius outside with a wind chill of –16 so I decided to swap Wednesday and Saturday’s workouts. I did 1.94 miles on the treadmill and 1.4 on the elliptical over my lunch break, it was a great way to break up the day! Thursday I hopped on the elliptical for 3.75 miles and then went to body flow. The instructor was really great and I decided to try and go to yoga every Thursday because Friday is my rest day it’s a great way to end the week!

 

Saturday I had a bad run. My Garmin died about 5 minutes into my run, I had my phone on me so I had a gps running app on there but it’s tough to hold the phone, monitor pace, and not fall down. I was supposed to be doing intervals so that was tough to maintain without the Garmin. That plus despite a day of rest prior my legs felt like junk and I just couldn’t get into it. I think it had to do with what I ate the night before, I went out to eat and had a heavy meal of fish and chips. I won’t be making that mistake again! Anyways I ended up doing 3.27 miles in 36 minutes so Ill take it. Sunday I did 4 miles in 38 minutes on the elliptical and body pump. It was my first time at body pump in a while so I kept my weights normal and didn’t move up. In total this week:

 

Miles: 21

Yoga: 60 minutes

Strength Training: 60 minutes

 

Here is the plan for this week:

 

Type Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday  Sunday
Run (Minutes)   40 min 30 min 20 min REST 40 min 20 min 
Elliptical / Arc (Min) 35 min     20 min     30 min
Class      Body Pump Body Flow     Body Pump

 

This week I am running more then I am on the elliptical, the plan is to slowly ease away from the elliptical now that my legs have been good for a while. I am so excited for this, I hope we have good weather this week so all my outside runs can happen. My plan is to take each run fairly easy, stretch, and lots of foam rolling!

 

What was your biggest exercise accomplishment last week?

Anyone else have a bad run?

Favourite food to eat the night before a weekend long run?

Favourite foam roller exercise?

Leave a Reply

