Canadian Blogger Series #6: British Columbia

Hello everyone! I am thrilled to be presenting post #6 in the series, last week was about Victoria, British Columbia and this week the post is about the beautiful interior of BC. Reading all about BC makes me want to visit there ASAP! This post was written by Amber from Girl With The Red Hair. Amber’s blog was one of the very first blogs I ever read once I was introduced to the healthy living blog world. Reading her posts about training for marathons and living a healthy life is incredibly inspiring! Thanks to Amber for your gorgeous post this week! Smile

Other posts in the Series:

1. Saskatchewan by Meg from A Dash of Meg

2. Ontario by Lisa from Smores N More

3. Yellowknife by Scott from Your Inner Skinny

4. Ontario by Rose from Healthy Hipster

5. British Columbia by Jaime from Embracing Balance

 

Hi everyone! I’m Amber from Girl with the Red Hair and I live in the Interior of British Columbia. Last week Jaime told everyone about Victoria, BC (one of my favourite cities actually!) so I’m going to talk more about the northern and interior sections of the province.
But really, I have to say I just ADORE British Columbia. There really is no other province I’d rather live in. Lakes, mountains, oceans – what more do you need?

 

CBS - Picture 1

I grew up in Northern British Columbia which really doesn’t get as much credit as it deserves! It’s cold up there, yes, but it’s also incredibly sunny year-round and the scenery really is spectacular. I’ll always consider the north and the Peace region "home". But about four years ago I moved "south" to the Interior of the province and I honestly can’t imagine myself living anywhere else!

I currently live in Kamloops and I’ve fallen in love with the scenery and nature around here. The below photo was taken 0.25 miles from my house – and yes, I live IN the city, a 5 – 10 minute drive to Walmart or the downtown core!

 

CBS - Picture 2

We aren’t more than four hours of driving from the ocean, an hour from the mountains and you can drive 20 minutes in any direction and be at a lake. We’re also situated very close to the Shuswap and Okanangan, which are both amazing and beautiful areas of the province. I grew up spending summer vacations in the Okanagan so it sometimes seems surreal to now only live a 1 – 2 hour drive away!

And if you really miss the hustle and bustle of big city life the only thing that stands between you and a weekend in Vancouver is a scenic 4-hour drive through the mountains! But I kind of prefer the smaller city living myself 🙂 Did I mention I have a 10-minute commute and can get almost anywhere in the city in less than 30 minutes?

 

CBS - Picture 3

Staying healthy in the Interior is easy. Our summers are some of the sunniest and hottest in Canada. We have an amazing farmers market that carries an abundance of fresh and local produce and goodies. There is no shortage of running paths and trails to run on – I actually didn’t even become a runner until I moved here – and you can drive for less than an hour and be at one of the best ski resorts in the world; Sun Peaks!

 

CBS - Picture 4

I feel lucky and grateful on a daily basis to live in such a beautiful place!

Do you often feel grateful and/or lucky to live where you live? What kinds of things do you appreciate most about your city/area?

