New Kicks

A few weeks ago I mentioned I had seen a podiatrist and been professionally fitted for sneakers. Well it’s been a few weeks and I am VERY happy with my choice to do this. Not only did I get a great pair of well-fitted sneakers but I learned a lot as well.

 

IMG_2951

 

The appointment and analysis took about an hour. While I won’t get into the specifics of what is going on with my feet, because I am sure that information is interesting to only me, I did have a full stride and gait analysis. I also brought in my old sneakers, which I would recommend everyone to do, and they showed me my wear patterns and what they indicated. Shoes are very important in injury prevention and I think my old sneakers played a big role in my injuries.

 

IMG_2952

 

I ended up being prescribed the Asics GT-2160 and after a few weeks of breaking them in I love them. They are a very cushioning and supportive shoe, which is exactly what my high-insteps need. Plus I love the icy-blue colour! Smile In addition to learning all about my stride and gait I also learned a lot about the right way to wear and treat a sneaker. While I’m sure a lot of this is common sense to some, it never really occurred to me.

 

1. If you feel like you need more support in your shoe you should use the very top holes on the sneakers that people normally don’t use. I’ve never used mine so it was a good reminder that if I felt like I needed more support that would be a good change to make.

 

2. When you are taking off your sneakers don’t push off that heel with the other sneaker, this can damage the sole of the shoe (as seen below). I know I am guilty of this when I am in a rush!!

 

IMG_2950

 

3. While 500 miles is the average of when you should switch out your shoes it really depends on your weight. Obviously the lighter you are the longer you can get out of a pair of shoes, after 500 miles you should go by feel, for example, if your feet or knees start bothering you then it’s time for new shoes. Also, once you are familiar with a brand of shoes you will have more of idea of how many miles you can get out of them.

 

4. When you put on your sneaker, before you lace up, kick your heel to the very back of the shoe (seen below) to ensure you get a tight fit!

 

IMG_2948

 

Obviously a lot of these tips relate to runners but I firmly believe after my experience that no matter what exercise you are doing you should be professionally fitted for appropriate footwear. It ensures not only that you have well-fitted shoes but you will learn a ton! Also, I just learned to tie my laces properly thanks to Runner’s World. This knot is the best, my laces never come undone now and I don’t have to double knot!

 

What sneaker do you wear? Any Asics fans?

Do you get your shoes professionally fitted?

Do you double or single knot?

5 thoughts on “New Kicks

  1. I so need new shoes right now. Thankfully mine are still in pretty great condition after a couple of years because I got injured and took a ton of time off, but I’m budgeting for a new pair next month (hopefully).

    I had Running Room fit me for a good shoe a few years back and ended up in the Asics GT-2130 and loved them. When I wore those out I got the 2150s and don’t like them as much. Your 2160s look more like my old ones though so I hope that means that I’ll love them again!

    • Great to hear you saw a podiatrist. I learned that I pronate when I run, not too much but a little. One leg is a little longer then the other and my insteps are huge. Lol I have a good toe kick off according to my old sneaker wear patterns but because I pronate I wobble a little so a cushioning shoe that stabilized me is exactly what I needed.

      Hopefully that all makes sense! :)

  2. Pingback: 2012 – A Year In Review « The Balance Project

Leave a Reply

