What I Ate Wednesday: Pancake Edition

I am thinking that Pancake Day aka Shrove Tuesday, celebrated yesterday, must be a Newfoundland thing. No one else seemed to be celebrating it other then us Newfoundlanders. In either case I celebrated, our tradition includes having Mac ‘N’ Cheese for dinner and then pancakes for dessert! Anyways I figured I’d share my pancake day eats on WIAW!

 

wiawloveyourveggiesmonthbutton2

 

I have been obsessed lately with baked oatmeal. I make it on Sunday and then eat it for the first 3 days of the week, it is unbelievably good. It doesn’t include any veggies but lots of fruit. Smile 

 

IMG_2942

 

Banana-Blueberry Baked Oatmeal (makes 3 pieces)

  • 1 cup oatmeal
  • 1 tbsp chia seeds
  • 2 tbsp brown sugar
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 1 tbsp vanilla
  • Cinnamon to taste
  • 1/2 cup frozen blueberries
  • 1 banana

 

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Mix all ingredients together except banana. Spray loaf pan with cooking spray and pour mixture into pan. Top with sliced bananas and bake 30 minutes. Slice loaf into 3 slices and top with nut butter when ready to serve!

 

For dinner I made Mac ‘N’ Cheese, using soy milk for regular and nixing the ricotta cheese. I also made banana choc chip pancakes using soy milk instead of almond. Both were a delicious, it was a dinner of comfort food.

 

IMG_2955

 

I had some veggies for lunch but  overall it was a day that was low on veggies!!

 

Do you eat baked oats? Favourite combination?

Did you celebrate pancake day?

What’s your favourite type of pancake?

