Workout Recap and Plan Feb 20 – 26

This week went fairly well for cardio, not so great for strength training, lets recap shall we?

Monday I did 2.5 miles on the elliptical and the followed it up with what was supposed to be a yoga class but the teacher called in a substitute that only taught body flow so I went to that instead. The elliptical was as usual boring but body flow was good, I could really feel that my leg had gained strength during the balance track. Tuesday, Valentine’s Day, I headed to the gym at lunch for 25 minutes elliptical (2.5 miles) and 10 minutes on the treadmill. It was just 10 minutes but that is the longest I have run in ages and even on the treadmill my legs felt good for the entire 0.8 mile. My back still doesn’t feel 100% but it is getting there.

 

Wednesday was another lunchtime workout and I did 3.5 miles on the elliptical in 35 minutes again. Thursday & Friday ended up both being rest days because I was off sick from work Thursday and still recovering Friday. Such is life.

 

Saturday was AMAZING. I ran for 25 minutes (yes you read that correct) I did 4 minutes running 1 minute walk and it was awesome. My legs felt strong and my back had minimal pain, the weather was even great! I did 2.54 miles in 25 minutes my first mile in 10:54 and my second in 10:03. Ill be honest when I saw the second split come up on my Garmin I did a little dance out of excitement. It has been a long time since I have run that pace and it felt so good. It will be a long road back to my my comfortable 8:30 pace but you take the small victories when you can!

 

2012-02-18 14.10.52

 

2012-02-18 14.11.14

 

When I came home I stretched and foam rolled while watching the latest episode of Modern Family on my iPad. I finally got a foam roller and I love it! I think this will be my new Saturday tradition, long run followed my foam rolling, stretching, and Modern Family! That’s my idea of a GREAT Saturday!

 

Sunday (today) I had to fight with myself to get on the elliptical, after running outside yesterday I wanted to do that again. However, I forced myself on by turning on the Big Bang Theory to watch during my workout and ended up with my usual 3.5 miles. Hey whatever it takes!

 

So overall I managed 15 miles this week which was exactly what was planned. What I missed on was strength training (missed body pump) and alternative cardio. I think going forward I will schedule either spinning or swimming during the week. It’s too hard to attempt to do both! This week body pump is a priority, here is what’s planned:

 

               
Type Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday  Sunday
Run (Minutes)     30 min 15 min REST 29 min  
Elliptical / Arc (Min) 30 min 35 min   15 min     40 min
Class  yoga Body Pump   Body Flow     Body Pump

 

So as of right now I have no spinning or swimming planned, mostly because I am concerned about allowing my back and legs rest as I start to ramp up miles again. I still haven’t seen anyone about my back yet why? Because I am stubborn and just want it to heal on its own, plus I don’t want to admit to another injury. I am thinking though I may have to have it looked at this week. We’ll see what happens!


Did you have a long run the weekend? How many miles?

Favourite TV show?

How was your weekend? Do anything fun?

Leave a Reply

