What I Ate Wednesday: Weekend Edition

Normally my WIAW posts are about what I actually ate on Wednesday, I thought I’d try something different this week and share my weekend eats! I try not to eat completely different on the weekend, but rather make things I don’t have time to make during the week. I still try to keep things (mostly) healthy. This month for WIAW is love your veggies month, luckily I included lots of veggies in my post! Smile 

 

wiawloveyourveggiesmonthbutton2

 

I started my Saturday morning with 2 fried eggs, whole wheat toast, coffee and OJ. The perfect way to start the day! Smile 

 

IMG_2917

 

For a late lunch I had a slice of leftover pizza from Friday night and a big salad with spinach, red pepper, grape tomato, goat cheese, and my favourite homemade balsamic vinaigrette dressing: 1 tbsp olive oil, 1 tbsp balsamic vinegar, and fresh pepper! I love how on the weekends I have the time to make fresh salads for lunch and there is nothing better then homemade dressing. SO much better (and healthier) then the bottled kind. Salads are my favourite way to get lots of veggies in!

 

IMG_2922

 

For dinner Bruce made chicken, bacon, buffalo sandwiches with roasted balsamic vinegar asparagus. I try and add at least one veggie as a side to each meal, asparagus is an easy was to do this and very easy to make! After supper I made homemade oatmeal, banana, and blueberry muffins and had one with a green tea! These muffins (recipe blow), like my pumpkin bread, are my own creation that I am very proud of. I took a lot of trial and error to make these, but they (eventually) turned out great!

 

IMG_2929

 

Oatmeal, Banana, & Blueberry Muffins (makes 12)

  • 1.5 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup oatmeal
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • 1 tbsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 2 mashed bananas
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tbsp vanilla
  • 3 tbsp margarine
  • 1/2 cup vanilla soy milk
  • 1/2 cup plain Greek yogurt
  • 1 cup blueberries
  • Cooking spray

 

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. Combine the first 6 ingredients (dry) and then separately the next 6 ingredients (wet). Combine the 2 and mix thoroughly. Add in the blueberries and mix well. Spray cooking spray in each muffin tin and pour in even amounts of batter (I don’t use paper muffin cups). Bake 20 – 25 minutes until toothpick comes out clean. Enjoy!

 

IMG_2869

 

What’s your favourite type of muffin?

Do you eat differently on the weekends?

What’s your favourite weekend breakfast?

How do you get your veggies in?

11 thoughts on “What I Ate Wednesday: Weekend Edition

  1. Oh my …can I please come and eat with you?!?!?! i love everything about this day and its meals

    I add veggies to salads and eat a lot of them – it’s easy.

  2. Pingback: How Pinteresting! | LilMysNinja

Leave a Reply

