Salsa Chicken

How is everyone enjoying their weekend so far? We had a storm today but it wasn’t near as bad as forecasted. I still didn’t leave the house all day though! I got a lot accomplished which I am happy about. Lots of cleaning, organizing, baking, and relaxing! It was a great snow day!

 

IMG_2916

 

It’s the time of year when snow days happen more often then not here in Canada. A while ago on one of my what I ate Wednesday posts I posted chicken enchiladas that I made with salsa chicken and I promised I’d share the recipe, I figured now was as good a time as any. This recipe will keep you hot when the weather is cold.

 

Crockpot Salsa Chicken

  • 1 can tomato sauce
  • 1 cup spicy salsa
  • 1 package taco seasoning OR use my homemade taco seasoning recipe below
  • 4 boneless skinless chicken breasts

 

Homemade Taco Seasoning

  • 1.5 tbsp chilli powder
  • 1.5 tbsp cumin
  • 1/2 tbsp onion powder
  • 1/2 tbsp garlic powder
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
  • salt and pepper to taste

 

Combine the first 3 ingredients and pour over chicken in crockpot. Combine the spices before hand if making your own taco seasoning. Cook on low 8 – 10 hours then shred chicken and mix thoroughly with sauce. You can use this chicken to make tacos, enchiladas, or even Mexican pizza below! After making my standard dough I added cheddar cheese, peppers, and tomatoes to make the pizza!

 

IMG_2889

 

What did you do this weekend so far?

What’s your favourite Mexican food?

Favourite thing to do on a snow day?

Leave a Reply

