Canadian Blogger Series #1: Saskatchewan

Good morning everyone! I am so honoured to be hosting the first ever (that I know of anyways) Canadian Blogger Series. Myself and a amazing group of Canadian Bloggers have collaborated on a series of posts that you will find here every Tuesday morning covering our beautiful country from coast to coast! If you are reading this and you are a Canadian Blogger and want to post send me an email hlmmurphy at gmail dot com and I’ll send along the details. Also you can find us on twitter using #CanadianBloggerSeries.

Today I’d like to introduce you to Meg who blogs at A Dash of Meg and is from the gorgeous prairie province Saskatchewan. I absolutely love reading Meg’s inspirational  posts each and everyday. She is one amazing writer about everything from life to fitness and posts some of the most fabulous recipes in the blog world! I am so happy she has joined us for the series with some of the most beautiful photos I have ever seen!! Smile 

 

Hello friends! Smile

I am incredibly honoured to introduce you all to the Canadian Blogger Series!Open-mouthed smile
Heidi asked me participate in the series a few weeks ago and I couldn’t turn her down SmileMany Canadian bloggers, including Heidi and myself, have come together to form a “series” of blog posts that feature a province within Canada Smile The Canadian Blogger Series takes place on Tuesdays and I am lucky to have my post as the very first post within the series Smile Even though I currently live in London, Ontario, Saskatchewan is my home. So, without further ado, I give you a little taste of my home province, Saskatchewan Smile

 

This summer I was introduced to the book, “If You’re Not From the Prairies” by David Bouchard. Even though this was a children’s book, Bouchard did an exceptional job at representing the prairie province of Saskatchewan. So, I looked to this book for inspiration for this post Smile

If you’re not from the prairie, you don’t know what’s flat…
If you’re not from the prairie, you don’t know the sky…
If you’re not from the prairie, you don’t know the sun…
DSC_0750
We have the most amazing sunsets.

If you’re not from the prairie, you’ve never heard grass…
If you’re not from the prairie, you don’t know the wind…
fall
In the winter they’re bone chilling and cut right through your coat, but in the fall, they’re soothing and blow through the crops in such a way that it almost looks magical.

If you’re not from the prairie, you don’t know our trees…
fall2
In the prairies trees are not of abundance, they are special and treasured.

Animal2

Animal3

Plant2
Although it is small, flat, bitterly cold in the winters, and muggy in the summer, Saskatchewan is my home and it is beautiful Smile

I am happy that I was given the chance to share a little taste of Saskatchewan with you today and I hope you enjoyed it Smile

Before I go, I would like to thank one of my closest friends, Jody Cmoc, who gave me access to her wonderful photography which I used throughout the post Smile She isn’t a photographer (yet), but I definitely think she should be! I think she has some serious talent! Smile

 

Have you ever been to Saskatchewan before?
Have you ever seen such a beautiful sunset?
What do you consider to be your home province or state?

See you all tomorrow!
Lots of love,
Meg
xoxoxoxo

10 thoughts on “Canadian Blogger Series #1: Saskatchewan

  1. Lovely pictures! I’ve never been to Saskatchewan, but maybe someday.

    I have lived in New Brunswick for going on 12 years, and PEI for 2 years before that, but Nova Scotia will always be home. 🙂

  2. Awesome post!!! Love Canadian bloggers pulling together and showing some Canadian pride. I’m from Québec and love my province. I’m a Québecer through and through!

  3. I’m a current Saskatchewan import from BC and I have to say, sask definitely rivals BC in beauty! The sunsets are gorgeous and nothing beats running on a grid road by fields of wheat and canola! It’s my favorite thing to do in the summer. When I moved here, I was amazed by how big the sky was without mountains! Still er awestruck whenever I come back from a trip elsewhere. Great post meg!

Leave a Reply

