Stronger Than Before

I think I may be injured again, I cannot believe I am back here once more. After Wednesday’s track workout I felt fine. I got up early on Thursday and did an elliptical workout and my left leg almost felt like there was a catch in the hip (my ITB injury is in the right leg). I don’t even know if that’s an accurate description but it’s tough to describe. Progressively my leg felt worse through Thursday and terrible yesterday. As I did last time I hoped it was soreness, however, I can pretend all I want I know the difference.

 

Today I can barley walk on it, it feels like my quad could give away any second and stairs are my worse enemy again. I had a hill workout and yoga planned for today. I went to yoga and had to skip any pose that required me to put my weight on my left leg. I’d just go into Child’s pose or downward dog as the instructor moved through the exercises I couldn’t do. I am sure people thought I was crazy but I am not about to risk making an injury worse, I know my limits.

 

After that I did 40 minutes on the elliptical, my leg felt fine during the workout and it feels fine other then when I have to do unsupported movement like walking or stairs. It’s the weight shift that causes the pain which is why running is painful but the elliptical isn’t. I have figured that much out from paying attention to it today. So I have come up with a few potential issues that could have caused this and some hopeful solutions:

 

1. My legs aren’t strong enough yet for high mileage: Without fail my mileage goes up and I get an injury because I skip strength training when I hit higher mileage. So I need to increase my glute and quad strength to support my high mileage runs. I planned Body Pump for twice this week and missed Thursday’s because I worked 12 hours and I am supposed to go tomorrow. I plan on going but being careful. I need strong supportive legs that don’t fail me during high mileage.

 

2. I need new sneakers: One of my resolutions was to have a professional fitting done by a podiatrist and I actually made an appointment for this week to see my doctor to get a referral to one. I know running stores do fittings but I have heard great things about a particular podiatrist in town so I figured I’d get a professional to take a look and see what my issues may be. My current sneakers have hit their 500 mile limit anyways so it’s time for new ones. I will be taking care of that this week.

 

3. My old injury isn’t fully healed and now the other leg is compensating:  I am not a doctor or physiotherapist but it doesn’t take a genius to figure out that if you are training through an injury that isn’t healed you may potentially cause the other leg to pick up the slack and then injure the good leg. This may or may not be what happened but I will have my doctor check it out this week and then probably head back to physiotherapy.

 

I am absolutely at the end of my patience with my legs. I know every runner goes through these issues at some point but I figured that my ITB issues were almost healed and I would have an injury-free 2012 running season. I will hopefully figure out what’s going on early this week and come up with a plan of attack. I am not sure how this will impact my training plan, I still haven’t told my friend the running coach so I will see what his thoughts are but I have a feeling me and my friend the elliptical will be bffs this week. Sigh.

 

I am a runner, I love to run and the most frustrating part of being injured is that I don’t get to run. It’s also really frustrating to hear opinions from people who don’t run that don’t get it and will say things like, “see I told you running is too hard on your body you should just stop”. Injuries happen, you could be injured doing any form of physical activity in reality. I know running has a higher reputation for injuries then some sports, I get it. If it was easy everyone would run a marathon, it’s not easy, it’s a challenge which is why I love it. It’s also why I will heal this injury and be stronger for it, or at least my legs will be.

 

2012-01-08 14.30.50

Anyone ever experience a quad/hip injury? Help?

What was your workout today?

Suggestions for leg strengthening? 

Anyone experience back to back injuries, how did you get through it?

2 thoughts on “Stronger Than Before

  1. I have just started the couch25k program and have not been injured yet thank goodness. I hope you heal soon. I did 1 hour of Zumba and 30 minutes of my training. 🙂

    Shannon
    Http:/www.everystepcounts365.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

