Just One of Those Days

I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t sitting here drinking a glass of wine in front of the fireplace. I wasn’t going to blog tonight because I just spent a very long 12 hours at work, in meetings the entire time. I love my job and I love my team, I am not complaining, but I am so unbelievably tired. I have never been so glad to have fit my workout in this morning at 6:30am because it wouldn’t have happened otherwise. I had a feeling it would be a long day so I fit it in because that’s what you do when your training for your first half-marathon….you fit it in. Smile

 

I ate take-out in a meeting room three times today…I’m glad I fit it in! Right now I am craving a little comfort so soon as this posts I am curling up and reading Game of Thrones. While I will not be cooking this after what I ate today, I think you should forget the laundry, the to-do list, twitter, and life and make this mac n’ cheese. Then curl up and read a good book if you are having one of those days. Sometimes you just gotta fit it in! Smile

 

Almost Non-Dairy Mac N’ Cheese 

  • 4 cups whole wheat small pasta (I used penne)
  • 1 cup light cheddar cheese
  • 1 tbsp margarine or butter
  • 1/4 tsp dry mustard
  • 1 cup soy milk
  • 1 tbsp flour
  • 1/2 cup cherry tomatoes chopped
  • Salt and pepper to taste.

 

Bring water to a boil and add pasta. Melt the margarine on medium low heat and then slowly add the flour while cooking until fully incorporated and there are no lumps! Allow to cook for an additional 2 to 3 minutes until it starts to turn an amber/caramel colour. Add in soy milk and continue to stir and cook 3 to 4 minutes until sauce has thickened. Add in cheese and dry mustard and cook an additional 2 to 3 minutes, constantly stirring. I am lactose-intolerant but I can have small amounts of real cheese, if you want this to be totally dairy-free you can swap in a lactose-free cheese. The sauce takes a total of 10 minutes to cook and pasta is generally around 12 so start the sauce 2 minutes after the pasta and they will be done the same time. Drain the pasta and add the sauce and tomatoes to the pasta and toss to coat. Season with salt and pepper and enjoy! I actually made this Monday which was also my vegetarian day this week, meatless Monday! (Serves 4)

 

IMG_2872

 

Favourite comfort food?

How do you de-stress after a long day?

What are you currently reading?

4 thoughts on “Just One of Those Days

Leave a Reply

