Veggie Saturday

I went on a glorious interval run this morning, it was just above zero but it was so nice to run in the daylight. I love running outside in the sun, it really is the best feeling.

 

2012-01-07 12.26.41

 

2012-01-07 12.26.50

 

I was doing 5, 4, 3, 2, 1 minute intervals with 1 minute rest in between. My splits were:

Mile 1: 11:05

Mile 2: 9:57

Mile 3: 10:13

Mile 3 – 3.85: 10:46

Not super fast but not bad considering it was an interval workout and I walked during my rest interval. My IT band felt okay, I have been dedicated to my physio exercises so I think it’s helping. I will be heading out again in the sunshine tomorrow so I hoping the weather stays good!

 

As per my resolutions I am going veggie once a week and this week I chose today.  I started the morning with a bowl of Kashi, then went for my run and came back and had a green monster, in the mix was frozen strawberries, bananas, blueberries, greek yogurt, and spinach, yum! Mid-afternoon I had a Kashi granola bar. For dinner I made Mama Pea’s Roasted Chickpea Tacos and my roasted balsamic asparagus. The tacos were AMAZING!

 

IMG_2862

 

I had a realization about tacos today, the best part about tacos is the fun shells and the toppings, not the meat!  These were super easy to make and the chickpeas were delish. My taco layers in order: homemade guac, roasted chickpeas, sliced grape tomatoes, light cheddar, and jalapeño and passion fruit salsa. This was my first time making homemade guacamole so I figured I’d share the recipe.

 

Homemade Guacamole

  • 1 avocado
  • 1/4 cup greek yogurt
  • 1/2 tbsp lime juice
  • 1.5 tbsp epicure spices (you could use a mix of garlic, crushed red pepper, onion powder, and fresh ground pepper) 

 

It was so yummy, guacamole makes everything yummy. I have tons of leftovers for lunch tomorrow, can’t wait to eat it! For dessert we had Tina’s Apple Crisp Light which Bruce absolutely loved. I really liked it as well, paired with Starbucks Christmas blend it was a great end to a day of veggie eats!

 

IMG_2864

Favourite meatless recipe? Share! I’m going to need lots of ideas!

What’s your favourite taco topping?

Favourite Starbucks blend?

5 thoughts on “Veggie Saturday

  1. Wow, you went running in that cold? You are tough! And I love the idea of putting greek yogurt in guac!

    Congrats on the veggie resolution! I am a vegetarain, so if you ever need a meatless recipe, just let me know. 😉

    • Unfortunately you have to get used to running in the cold in Canada!! Haha today it was 7 degrees out though so go figure hahaha

      I will check out your blog for veggie ideas, thanks!! 🙂

  2. nice run! I’m loving your winter wonderland and I LOVE guac!!!!!!

    you just won me over 😀

    My fav meatless recipe is pasta salad, I also LOVE falafel and I love grilling tofu – YUM

    • I love love love pasta salad, I could eat carbs all day everyday!

      I am going to add falafel to my list of veggie ideas, I have always wanted to try it, thanks for the suggestion! 🙂

  3. Pingback: A Spooky Time « The Balance Project

Leave a Reply

