An Ugly Sweater Christmas

So I wanted to do a recap of our Christmas party we had last Friday and all the fun and food we enjoyed! First of all I have to say we had a lot of stylish sweaters at our party. Including our own:

 

IMG_2798

 

But the winner of the night and the prize is below, our friend Steve! What a great vest don’t you think? He made it himself (I am sure you couldn’t tell).

 

IMG_2825

 

I went all out on the food this year so I figured I’d create a post with my menu including all the yummy recipes I created and those I found around the internet. Unfortunately I have no food pictures but trust me it was yummy and this menu would keep any holiday or New Year’s party happy!

 

Cookies

Chewy Peppermint Mocha Cookies

No-Bake Snowballs

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cups

 

Appetizers

Meatballs  

Oriental Party Pack (spring rolls, pot stickers etc.)

Dry Spiced BBQ Chicken Wings

  • 1 pack of split chicken wings from Costco or about 4 pounds of wings
  • Roasted red pepper seasoning
  • Steak spice
  • Salt and pepper

Season with above spices to taste and barbeque for 15 – 20 minutes on medium heat until done.

Buffalo Chicken Egg Rolls (Inspired from Eat. Live. Run.)

  • 3 cooked chicken breasts chopped
  • 1/3 cup buffalo sauce
  • 1 cup old cheddar cheese
  • 1 pack of egg rolls (30 – 40 wrappers)
  • oil for frying

 

Mix chicken, cheese, and sauce in a bowl. Heat oil in large skillet with cover over medium-low heat. Take each individual egg roll and place a tbsp of filling in the middle. Wet the sides with a little water ( I kept a small bowl next to me for this purpose). Fold in both sides the roll up and seal seam with a little squeeze and a little water if needed. Do up enough to fill the pan and fry on both sides 4 – 5 minutes in batches then drain on paper towels and put next batch on pan, adding more oil as needed. You could serve them immediately but in my experience it is better to freeze then in an air-tight container and re-heat them on a cookie sheet on 350 degrees for 20 minutes, flipping once! These were a huge hit and the great thing is you can make them early in the week and freeze them for the night of the party!

 

Snackables

Cheese platter with various cheeses

Kielbasa

Crackers

Tandoori spiced nuts

Spicy salsa (jalapeño and passion fruit) and tortilla chips

 

Everyone really seemed to enjoy the food, I had a great time at our party and hope my guests did as well. This was our second year having our Christmas party and every year I love planning it as much as hosting it. I hope this menu gives you some inspiration for your next party!

 

What’s your favourite party food?

Ever attend an ugly sweater party? How ugly was your sweater?

Leave a Reply

