Running On Sunshine

2011-11-04 17.21.35

Wait, what’s that thing in the sky? It couldn’t be the sun! Yes, that’s correct I ran in the sunshine, I left work today at 5:10 pm and had 30 glorious minutes of running before the sun went down. I forgot just how good it was. I covered 2.7 miles in 30 minutes (slow but steady). My pacing was even, my leg didn’t hurt, and I enjoyed every second. Unfortunately, or fortunately, depending how you look at it, daylight savings is this weekend so it will be brighter in the morning and darker earlier. Might help those early morning runs all the same.

 

After my run I came home and started cooking, Bruce and I had his family over for a dinner that was all about the comfort. I made these beauties from How Sweet It Is. I swapped regular soy milk for the normal milk and put some shredded cheddar on top. There is nothing like the smell of homemade bread, amazing.

 

003

For the main event? Yankee Pot Roast Soup. This is a stick to your ribs total comfort food. Pour up a bowl and dip in the roll. You’ll be happy you did!

 

Yankee Pot Roast Soup (serves 8-12)

  • 3 – 4 lb roast cut into bite sized pieces
  • 5 large potatoes yellow fleshed cubed
  • 6 medium sized carrots sliced
  • 1 yellow onion sliced
  • 1 small turnip cubed
  • 2 boxes (900 ml)of beef broth
  • 1 beef bouillon cube
  • 1 package onion soup mix
  • 1 tbsp maggi liquid seasoning
  • 5 cups water (more if you need more liquid)
  • 8 oz tomato paste
  • Flour
  • Butter
  • Salt and pepper to taste

 

Melt 1 tbsp of butter on frying pan and add some of the onion. Toss meat in flour, salt, and pepper and fry until browned on the outside. Fry meat and onions in batches, adding butter as needed. Meanwhile bring the broth and water to boil in a large soup pot. Once all meat is browned add meat, onion, and rest of veggies to broth. Add in everything else and bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer on medium for 1 – 1.5 hours. Stir frequently to ensure it doesn’t stick to the bottom of the pot. Add water as needed and season with more salt and pepper to taste.

011

 

While it was simmering I poured myself a glass of pinot grigio and relaxed after a long week! We finished off dinner with coffee and apple crumble from a local bakery.

002

 

I am so happy it is the weekend. I have a long elliptical workout planned for tomorrow plus body pump and I have a bon fire party tomorrow night! Should be a fun weekend!

 

What’s your favourite comfort food?

Any exciting plans for the weekend?

4 thoughts on “Running On Sunshine

  1. Plans for the weekend? Me…travel, sing and do concerts as usual…and maybe hang out with friends in between it all. Lots of fun!

    I love your blog name by the way. It’s so cute!

    • Thank you!! : )

      I just checked out your blog – love it, you have beautiful photos. Seems like you were just recently in the Maritimes, every make your way to Newfoundland in your travels? If you haven’t you should! : )

      Enjoy your weekend!

  2. I love this post :) I LOVE ALL OF YOUR POSTS <3 mmmm beautiful picture of the morning :) and wow, sounds like a great weekend :) I am kind of jealous as I am busy with homework! Like I am so busy it is crazy.

    My favourite comfort soup would be something like potatoes or something like that. A big lump of garlic mashed potatoes. Lots of garlic.

    • Thanks, I love yours to! :)

      That picture was actually shot this evening 30 minutes before sunset, on my phone actually if you can believe that! haha

      I remember very well last year during my final year of University l studied every waking second. Enjoy every minute of University it passes so quickly! You’ll even miss the studying! haha

      Mmmm that sounds amazing, I love garlic!

Leave a Reply

