Not Ready To Let Go

It blows my mind, every year without fail on Nov 1st out goes fall and in comes Christmas. Don’t get me wrong, I love Christmas as much as the next person but please stop trying to rush my life away! I still want to savour fall and all it’s wonderfulness, the weather seems to agree with me, today it hit almost close to 10 degrees out and not a cloud in the sky. Absolutely perfect fall running weather, of course I had a treadmill/elliptical workout on the schedule (thank you IT band) and I was tempted to ditch it for sunshine but I stuck to the plan. I am hopeful that tomorrow’s weather will be just as good as I have an outside run planned.

 

I worked out today over lunch for the first time ever in hopes that I would discover the answer to my problem. When the days are so short how do you find time to workout in the sunshine? I work 9-6 most days, so it’s pretty much impossible. I think I have tried every option and found no answer I am happy with. Today I tried out the lunchtime thing and though I showered I was running 5 minutes late, rushed, felt gross, and did not have my post run relaxed feeling. I felt like I was in a race against the clock so that option has been killed. So after much thought I have determined that running in the dark as close to sunrise as possible is going to have to do. I’m a morning runner but getting up to pitch black darkness is brutal on me and I have no idea why. I guess because my body feels like it should be still asleep, I will have to teach it otherwise. The long days of summer are behind us, we have just a few more weeks to enjoy fall, before the cold winter is upon us. Perhaps as I hang on to fall for dear life a bowl of pumpkin oats will be the right amount of encouragement to get me up in the dark to see the beautiful sun rise.

 

Pumpkin Oats (serves 1)

  • 1/2 cup oatmeal
  • 1/2 cup vanilla soy milk
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/2 cup pumpkin
  • 1 tbsp chia seeds
  • 1 tbsp sliced almonds
  • 1 tsp brown sugar
  • 1/2 tsp pumpkin spice
  • 1/2 tsp carob powder
  • 1 tbsp nut butter

 

Bring water and milk to a boil. Add in oats, pumpkin, and chia seeds and cook until desired consistency. Top oats with nut butter, almonds, brown sugar, pumpkin spice, and carob powder. Just as a side note carob powder can be found in Canada at Bulk Barn, it is a replacement for cocoa in any recipe and has lots of fibre, iron, and calcium (source).

006

 

What time of day do you usually workout? How do you fit your life around it?

What’s your favourite season?

6 thoughts on “Not Ready To Let Go

  1. Thank you for remembering my blog even when I neglected it for a while! I hear ya – today at the mall they were playing Christmas music! A little too soon, I think.
    I love working out in the mornings, it gets me on the right track for the day!

  2. mmmmmmmmmm making those oats as soon as I get me some more pumpkin 😉 hehe YUM!

    I must workout in the morning or else I just don’t feel it :p On Wednesdays I have to hit up the gym over my lunch hour, but I have just kind of made myself enjoy it haha

  3. I agree, fall goes by WAY TOO FAST! It is my favourite season and I would love for it to stick around for a few more months 🙂

    Unless I run at lunch the only runs in the sunshine I get in this time of year are my weekend runs, so I have no advice for you! I LOVE my lunchtime runs though and really enjoy how they break up my day! But yes, it can be kind of gross to go back to work without showering sometimes!

    • I wish it would, our Canadian winters are so brutal!!

      I think with daylight savings it may be brighter earlier after this weekend, I’m hopeful anyways. If not I am going to have to just suck it up!! haha

Leave a Reply

