Cast Iron Skillet Frittata

I have been working hard in the kitchen all week getting back to what I love, cooking. I have made Frittata lots of times but this one was definitely my best attempt yet. I make my eggs without milk (I am lactose intolerant though if you’re wondering how I can eat cheese it’s because I can safely consume 12 grams of lactose a day), though I have used soy in the past I have none on hand. You can really add any veggies you want to this recipe, so make it your own!

 

Cast Iron Skillet Frittata (Serves 2 – 3)

 

010

 

  • 1 small red pepper chopped in rings
  • 2 fresh mushrooms  chopped
  • 1 cup light cheddar cheese
  • 2 tbsp real bacon bits
  • 1 chopped tomato
  • 1 tsp onion powder
  • fresh black pepper
  • 4 eggs
  • 2 egg whites
  • butter and cooking spray to coat pan

 

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Heat cast iron skillet over medium heat on stovetop to melt butter, coat entire pan including sides and then give a quick extra coat of cooking spray. Whisk eggs + egg whites and spices together and pour into pan. Add peppers, mushrooms, tomato, bacon, and top with cheese. Leave on stovetop 5 minutes then transfer to oven to cook for 20 minutes. Slice it up and serve it hot, I had mine with spicy roasted baby potatoes. This entire thing was done in less then 40 minutes, that’s a win in my book!

 

What are your favorite frittata add ins? 

4 thoughts on “Cast Iron Skillet Frittata

Leave a Reply

