Where I Am At

A while ago I posted what I learned from being injured. I have another one to add to the list: plans are made to be broken sometimes. I can plan, research, hope, and say mantras over and over again – but if an injury is not ready to heal you can help it all it want but you can’t force it. I learned that lesson last week so this week I am playing things on the safe side. I saw my physiotherapist Wednesday and she said I have had minimal improvement so I have to run low mileage and work my way up. I have done that 2 days in a row now and felt minimal pain, today more then yesterday. So instead of today’s planned run I did elliptical because I know that is the safe and right thing to do, despite my training plan. Slow and steady heals the injury that’s my new motto.  So that’s where I am at today – short run on the plan tomorrow lets see how it goes! I am finding that balance … slowly but surely.

So I mentioned in my mantra this week that I am getting back to cooking! I have a love of cooking so I am in the kitchen this week creating lots of delicious things including slow cooker recipes. I adore my slow cooker, on nights when I go to Body Pump I usually have something in the slow cooker waiting for me when I get home to enjoy and refuel with no fuss! It’s easy peasy and means I am more likely to eat healthy food at home rather then grab take out out of convenience.

 

Slow Cooker Chicken Bacon Ranch Sandwich (makes 4 sandwiches)

  • 3 chicken breasts (boneless skinless)
  • 1/2 cup ranch dressing
  • 2 tbsp real bacon bits
  • 4 whole wheat buns
  • tomato, cheese (I used monetary jack) and extra dressing to top.

 

Place chicken breasts in slow cooker and top with dressing and bacon. Cook on low for 8 to 10 hours then shred chicken. Place on toasted buns with melted cheese, tomato and extra dressing. When I say easy … I mean easy. Sweet potato fries on the side? Don’t mind if I do!

 

008

 

Got any slow cooker recipes to share? I’d love to check em’ out!

Leave a Reply

