A Bump in the Road

So turns out the pain I mentioned Monday was an injury. After consulting with my friend the running coach it seems I tweaked my IT Band in my right leg during my race. So I have been on a strict regime of ibuprofen, ice, rest, stretching, and no running. Worst things can happen, I’ve lived through worse, but running is what gets me through everything in my life. Mostly it’s my stress release before or after a long day. Today was a long day and I was itching to hit the road. I’m not going to complain (too much) but I will say that my friend the running coach is hopeful I will be hitting the streets Saturday. In the mean time I have made friends with the elliptical (that’s a lie) I hate the elliptical. haha I went and used the one at the gym but we have this basic one at my house that I used today:

015

When I say basic I mean basic. Anyways it occurred to me today that I never shared my pre-race dinner. I’ve always been told and read about the benefits of carb-loading before a race and lets face it I need all the help I can get. So I created a lasagna that was delicious and light on cheese. I’m lactose intolerant but I can handle a little cheese just not the tons that normal lasagna contains. Fun fact: people who are lactose intolerant can have up to 12 grams of lactose a day! Anyways what I ended up creating was a healthy and tasty lasagna that gave me the energy to finish strong the next day.

Race Day Lasagna (makes 9 pieces)

  • 12 no-boil whole wheat lasagna noodles
  • 1 jar organic pasta sauce
  • 3/4 pound extra lean ground beef
  • 5 large white mushrooms chopped
  • 1 green pepper chopped
  • 1 yellow onion minced
  • 4 cups baby spinach
  • 2 cups light cheddar cheese shredded
  • 1 tbsp red pepper flakes
  • 2 garlic cloves minced
  • 1 tbsp basil
  • 1 tbsp oregano
  • 1 tsp parsley
  • 1 can diced tomatoes undrained
  • Fresh black pepper
  • 1 tbsp EVOO

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Place noodles in a baking dish with hot water and set aside. Heat EVOO in large pan with lid and add in peppers, mushrooms, and onion. Cook for about 5 minutes.

003

Add in meat and cook until browned and cooked through. Drain grease from meat and then add in garlic and all other spices, cook another 2 minutes. Add in pasta sauce, tomatoes, and spinach and simmer for 15 minutes.

009

Drain noodles and line baking dish with parchment paper. Place 4 noodles on the bottom of the dish then, top with sauce/meat mixture, and then cheese. Repeat these layers another 2 times. Wrap dish in tinfoil and bake 20 minutes. Remove the foil in the last 5 minutes and cook until cheese is golden and bubbly.

012

014

What’s your favourite pre-race fuel?

Leave a Reply

