BBQ Chicken Pizza

The weather in my neck of the woods has not been good. When I say not been good I mean rain, drizzle, and fog …. constantly. I actually could barely see the parking lot from the office today because of the fog. This is what it looked like on my run yesterday:

2011-08-04_07.47.15

It’s downright depressing, it’s August after all. The rest of Canada is seeing heat waves and record high temps. I wish they’d send them our way for a while. I’ve stopped planning any form of barbeque into my meal plans because the weather just refuses to cooperate. So as a last ditch attempt to pretend it’s summer I’ve decided to bring the flavours of barbequing inside.

 

BBQ Chicken Pizza (serves 4)

  • Homemade (see below for my recipe) or premade frozen or fresh crust
  • 2 cooked and chopped chicken breasts
  • 1/2 cup favourite bbq sauce (divided)
  • 8 or 9 grape tomatoes chopped
  • 1 green pepper chopped
  • 4 mushrooms chopped
  • 2 cups mozzarella cheese (I used light)

 

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spread half the sauce on the crust and use the rest to toss the chicken in. Top crust with chicken, tomatoes, peppers, mushrooms, and cheese. Bake for 20 minutes or so until cheese is bubbly and golden brown. You could really add any veggies you like to this!

 

Homemade Pizza Dough (Makes 1 pizza enough for 4 people)

  • 1 tsp sugar
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2.25 teaspoons quick rise yeast (also known as bread machine yeast)
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 cup white flour (or you can use all white or all whole wheat)
  • 3/4 cup hot water
  • 2 tbsp olive oil

Mix water, sugar, and yeast and allow to sit for 10 minutes until yeast is foamy and bubbly looking on top of water. Add everything else and knead by hand or my personal lazy method by dough hook on a stand mixer for 5 minutes. Allow to rise for at least 20 minutes, roll out dough on a floured surface, and top with desired toppings! It’s better if you allow for a longer rise but if you are short on time 20 minutes is enough time. That’s what quick rise yeast is for! This is my go to dough recipe. We eat a lot of homemade pizza around here, I’ll eventually share all my topping combinations!

 

028

Fun fact: this picture was shot out in the drizzle and fog on my deck. I wanted natural light so I braved the elements! I’m off to check on the progress of the renovation of my office and hopefully curl up under a blanket and watch a movie because it’s Fall here apparently. Crossing my fingers for blue skies on my morning run! Enjoy your evening : )

What are you up to this weekend?

Leave a Reply

