A Summer Chill

It feels like winter today. It’s cold, rainy, and foggy – a typical Newfoundland day. But the drastic change in temperature makes it feel like a fall day with winter shortly around the corner. The best decision I made today was putting on soup in the slow cooker before I left for work. On the nights I plan on going to the gym after work I am trying to do a slow cooker meal so I don’t chew my arm off when I get home and have to cook. The soup was so warm and hearty on a chilly day. I used this recipe and added potatoes. Yum!

I am happy to report that my back on track week is going great. I haven’t missed one planned workout, even when my legs were so sore I had trouble getting up and sitting down in a chair and avoided stairs and heels over 3 inches all week. I didn’t make up excuses in my head and I just went and got it done, and you know what? I never regretted it once. In fact I have enjoyed every workout this week. I can feel myself getting stronger, it’s a great way to have some time in my busy day for just me, and a great way to avoid stress! Anyways so after this week I think I am switching up the way I post my weekly workouts so stay tuned for that.

So the main reason for this post is to share a great salad combination with you. I won’t call it a recipe because really it’s just an ingredient list but this is a perfect summer dinner salad. It was great to throw together early in the week when it was still hot.

 

018

 

In the salad:

  • 2 or 3 cups of baby spinach or greens
  • 6 or 7 grape tomatoes halved
  • 1 chicken cooked and chopped
  • 1 tbsp feta cheese
  • 1/4 bell pepper chopped
  • Dressing: 1 tbsp olive oil and 1 tbsp balsamic vinegar shaken not stirred Winking smile 
  • Fresh black pepper to taste

This salad was so good I made another one and took it to work next day. It was also surprisingly filling for a salad. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

