Mexican Fiesta Breakfast Wrap

I actually had this wrap last Sunday on a lazy morning lounging around the house and Bruce and I enjoyed breakfast on the deck. It was the perfect Sunday and these wraps were exactly what I wanted! They actually were inspired by the fact that we were pretty much out of groceries and I wanted a hot breakfast – so I had to get creative!

Mexican Fiesta Breakfast Wrap (serves 2)

  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • 3 tbsp salsa
  • 3 eggs
  • 1/2 cup shredded cheese (any kind)
  • 1/2 green bell pepper chopped
  • 2 mushrooms chopped
  • 1/4 cup plain soy milk or regular milk
  • 1 tbsp Earth Balance or margarine/butter
  • 2 whole wheat wraps
  • salt and pepper

Melt butter/margarine on a pan over medium heat. Whisk together eggs, milk, cumin, and salt and pepper to taste.  Once pan is coated and hot add eggs, green pepper, and mushrooms. Allow to cook for 3 or 4 minutes without touching it. Then add salsa and cheese and allow to cook for another 2 or 3 minutes. Then using a spatula chop up egg mixture until it looks like scrambled eggs and is completely cooked. Meanwhile warm tortillas in microwave. Spoon 1/2 of egg mixture into each wrap, roll, and enjoy! Though the egg mixture doesn’t look appetizing trust me, it is!

Eggs

 

026

All wrapped up!

 

This is such a versatile egg recipe, you could really mix it up and add whatever you had on hand. I think I will be adding jalapeños next time!

I should have an interesting post ready to go at some point tomorrow – I turn 25 in just 10 minutes! Smile

Leave a Reply

