Well I have kept up with my exercise plan all week with a few small tweaks. That is up until today. I went to Body Pump for the first time yesterday. I told the instructor it was my first time and he advised me to keep my weight low for my first class which I did … or so I thought. I kept it at 11 lbs or 5 kg total, at the height of my strength training this year I was at 14 lbs per arm or  28 lbs total. So I figured I was REALLY taking it light.

However, Body Pump is all about working on the same muscle group repeatedly, way more reps than I am used to. During the class I didn’t notice it though. I felt strong and I absolutely loved the class. The other thing I didn’t take into account is that I have never done squats with weight or ab workouts with weight… or well I have but just not recently.

Late last night I started to feel some pain but I secretly enjoy the slight pain of a workout well done. Well, when I woke up this morning I knew for sure Body Pump had given me a good workout, I can barely move. haha The good news is I am not discouraged, I can’t wait for my next class I just don’t think it’s a good idea to go tomorrow but we’ll see. I will for sure go to my class next week but tomorrow will depend on today’s recovery. I will not be doing my 53 minute run today. I know the difference between good pain and bad pain. When I need to put my arm behind me to lower myself to a chair that’s a sign that a run is just not in the works for me today.

So I am resting and relaxing and catching up on some work around the house! I am also planning on going for a walk later to give those tight muscles a good stretch and some movement. A little rest will ensure my safe injury-free journey in exercise continues. My planned workout Friday is also changed now that I am heading out-of-town early. That’s life, hopefully I will find a way to get some sort of exercise in that day. It’s the journey that’s important and I will get there!

Have you ever attended Body Pump? What was your first class experience like?

Leave a Reply

