The Night Before

Today there was lots of stretching and foam rolling (photo shot today at work by the talented Sam Russell)….as an aside – just a typical day at the office! haha

photo (19)

There was also lots of carb loading, I was on a mission – leave no carb behind! A yummy mix of whole wheat bow ties, red peppers, mushrooms and hot Italian sausage with a sprinkle of light cheese. Perfect pre-race meal.

photo (22)

I am just an hour away from sleep and then my first race of 2012. I have all my things laid out and a definite case of the pre-race jitters. I am travelling outside of the city for this race about 1.5 hours which I know is a commute for some people but around here you can get anywhere in 20 minutes. I am nervous about getting lost or not making it in time. I’m mostly nervous though about not performing well and letting myself down. I am afraid it is too soon, I am afraid I am going to hurt myself again, and I am afraid to come in last (it’s a VERY small race).

I have run only a handful of races but the night before jitters are always the worst. I have to learn to trust my training! I have a solid month and a half of good base building behind me. I may not be as fast as I was before but I will get back there – I just need to trust my training and enjoy the race.

There is no room for fear.

How do you deal with pre-race jitters?

What are your night before rituals?

Anyone else racing tomorrow?

Follow me on Twitter for updates tomorrow and check back for the race recap!

Leave a Reply

