Workout Recap & Plan June 11 – 17

I had another great week this week – I ran 21 miles, managed 2 sessions of strength training, and ran my longest run ever 6.6 miles. It was a great week! Smile Lets jump right into the recap!

 

Monday I ran bright and early in the morning and did 3.43 miles in 40 minutes. This run was a little rough just because my legs didn’t feel like loosening up and I just couldn’t really get into it. Tuesday I ran 3.41 miles in 40 minutes on the treadmill before Body Pump. This run was pretty good as far as treadmills go. Body Pump was great, I upped my weights and really pushed myself so I found the class good but challenging.

 

Wednesday I ended up taking as my rest day because I wasn’t feeling well. Thursday I got back at it with an interval run. My goal for my intervals was 7:55 min /mile. I blew that out of the water managing a total of 2.73 miles in 30 minutes (intervals below):

 

I1: 7:10
I2: 7:32
I3: 7:26
I4: 7:19
I5: 7:32
I6: 7:23
I7: 7:51
I8: 7:22

 

Friday was a slow recovery run I did 2.62 miles in 30 minutes very early in the morning before work. I really enjoyed this run, it was a great way to start a very busy day. Saturday I ran after a night out with work, I thought it would be awful, but my legs actually felt really strong. I guess the beer Friday night helped? haha

 

Sunday was a big day for me, it was one of those runs you just want to thank the running gods for a run like I had. It was my longest run ever at 6.6 miles in 1 hour 12 minutes giving me an average pace of 10:54, faster then any other run that week and I had done Body Pump right before hand. It was crazy but my legs just fell into a motion and I went with it. I felt great and I was just so happy to be running! About 1 mile from being finished though I started thinking about carbs and water. It was the first time I had ever considered that I may need to consider carrying water and fuel on my long runs. This run was a huge breakthrough for me, finishing off my week at 21 miles.

 

photo (13)

 

Last week was great I felt strong and I was loving life! After the week prior, it was much needed! Lets hope this week brings the same:

 

Type Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday  Sunday
Run (Minutes) 50 min 40 min 35 min 36 min 40 min  75 min REST 
Elliptical / Arc (Min)              
Class    Body Pump   Body Pump      
     

 

How was your workout week last week? Anyone race?

How long does a run have to be before you carry water or fuel?

What do you use for fuel during a long run?

Any suggestions for carrying water?

Leave a Reply

