Workout Recap & Plan June 4–10

I had a great running week – I finally feel like I am back in the training groove and I am loving it! Smile I hit 20 miles this week, so I was very excited about that! Also, did my first 2-a-day run and I loved it. I have been catching up on everyone’s blogs since my vacation and reading my newest Runner’s World and I am just so excited to be back into and have a race coming up on the calendar. I am in running mode, and it’s kinda great. Winking smile Anyways lets get right into the recap shall we!

 

Monday was a planned rest day and it was lovely. Tuesday I hit up the treadmill at the gym because it was cold out and I was going to Body Pump so I figured that was the best plan. I had a great workout both on the mill and in body pump. I did 2.7 miles in 30 minutes on the treadmill followed by Body Pump. Though I wasn’t as sore the next day after class as I was last week so I think it will be soon time to up my weights.

 

Wednesday was a 30 minute morning run outside and it was freezing out – it’s pretty much winter temperatures here the last week which was great. I did 2.6 miles in 30 minutes which was a little slower then I did on the treadmill the day before. I think my legs were just feeling a little sluggish which happens. Especially at that hour in the morning in the cold, I am not kidding when I say I wasn’t awake until I was about a half mile from home. Smile 

 

Thursday was an unexpected rest day. I woke up planning to run and then my bed was so warm that I decided that I could run after work and go to body pump just like Tuesday. Turns out my day and life had other plans and I didn’t get home until after 10pm. Such is life! Smile 

 

Friday I did an interval run that was pretty well painful. It was one of those runs where I felt my aerobic capacity has decreased significantly since lowering my training and I just knew I had to push through the pain to get back to where I was. I find when you have runs like this one you just know that your pushing through because there are better things to come. So that’s what I did and it sucked and I got through it. I just keep saying to myself – can’t stop, won’t stop!! I ran a total of 3.6 miles in 40 minutes. Intervals were supposed to be at 8:30 pace, a pace that at one time was very comfortable for me. I will get there again.

 

I1: 8:37

I2: 8:43

I3: 8:41

I4: 8:44

I5: 9:30 <- Dying

 

Saturday was my first scheduled 2-a-day! I did the first 2 miles in 22 minutes and they felt what I thought was pretty good. That evening I want back out and did another 2.7 miles and my legs felt so loose! I foam rolled in between and stretched but I guess the first shorter run just causes your legs to loosen up because I felt great! I can’t wait to tackle another one of these. Smile 

 

Sunday I did my long run in Bowering Park where I have never run before. It was so scenic and I really enjoyed it. I find when I run new routes I tend to go a little faster and push more because I don’t know the mile markers by heart. I did 5.3 miles in 60 minutes and then walked .7 miles back to my car rounding out my run at 6 miles.

 

photo (11)

 

This week my big goal is to break my personal longest distance of 6.2 miles during my long run. Also I just took a look back at Daily Mile and my biggest month of mileage is 69 miles last August at the height of my race training just before I injured myself the first time so my goal for June is to blow that record out of the water. It’s only June 5 and I’ve already got 20 miles under my belt. Smile 

 

Type Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday  Sunday
Run (Minutes) 40 min 40 min 30 min 31 min 30 min  rest 70 min
Elliptical / Arc (Min)              
Class    Body Pump   Body Pump   yoga  
 

I need to update my playlist – what’s your latest fav workout song?

Anyone ever experience an interval run like mine on Friday? How do you push through?

What’s your mantra?

Leave a Reply

