Training Recap and Plan Week of April 9

I had an okay training week this past week. I managed to do okay running but no strength training or yoga. I had a lot on my plate this week and I guess sometimes these weeks happen! 

 

Monday I did 2.84 miles on the elliptical in 30 minutes over lunch. Monday’s I have my Dale Carnegie class so I can usually only fit in max a 30 minute workout. Tuesday I had to run on the treadmill due to the low temperatures, I ran 3 miles in 35 minutes. It was a rough run, I was very tried and just wasn’t feeling it. On Wednesday I was even more run down and was not feeling well at all. So I decided to rest and move Wednesday’s workout to Thursday and skip Thursdays. Sometimes it is better to rest then push through.

 

Thursday I did my interval run, my goal was an 8 minute mile during the intervals.

 

I1: 8:02
I2: 7:53
I3: 8:09
I4: 7:53
I5: 8:18
I6: 8:09
I7: 8:01
I8: 8:05
I9: 8:17

 

Friday was an easy run that I had to do after a night out with my team at work. We had a blast but I never learn my lesson about running after a night out. I did 3.77 miles in 40 minutes which was an average pace of 11 min/mile. It was such a gorgeous day out it made this tired run worth it.

 

Saturday I had a planned 30 minute run with a fast 10 minutes in the middle supposed to be at a 8:30 min/mile pace. With a hilly route and a crazy headwind I managed 9:12. Fast for me these days but not as planned!

 

This week I want to get back into dedicated strength training and yoga. I also want to do my very best hitting my goal paces. I am at the point in my training now where I am ready to ramp things up and in order to do that I need to be sticking to my training plan!

 

Type Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday  Sunday
Run (Minutes) 30 min   40 min 20  min 35 min REST 40 min
Elliptical / Arc (Min)       20 min      
Class    Spinning + BP   yoga     Body Pump

 

How was your training week?

Do you have trouble sticking with strength training and yoga when mileage increases?

How do you stay motivated during the week to stick to your plan?

Do anything exciting this weekend?

2 thoughts on “Training Recap and Plan Week of April 9

  1. Looks like an alright week!

    My mileage is increasing right now due to marathon training and I’m definitely finding it hard to work in adequate strength training and flexibility stuff…it’s tough!

Leave a Reply

