Training Recap and Plan April 2–8

Well I guess this is better late then never! I can’t say it enough I had a GREAT training week last week. 3 of my runs in particular just fell in place and felt perfect. I am finally finding my way back to my pre-injury legs!! Lets jump right into it shall we?

Monday I ran 3.22 miles in 35 minutes with an average pace of 10:51. I ran the first 2 miles of this run without stopping once. That’s the longest I have gone without a walking break since before my injuries. I was the happiest girl last Monday morning. Smile You seriously could not wipe the smile off my face! Tuesday I went to spinning, normally the classes are 50 minutes but when I got there the instructor mentioned this was a 60 minute class. 10 extra minutes?  Bring it. I spun my little heart out and loved it, that’s how cross-training should be, FUN!

 

Wednesday I had an interval workout and was aiming for an 8 min/mile during intervals (40 second intervals with 40 second rest). This was the second run I had this week that felt so great. 8 min intervals? How about 7:45 instead! Smile 

I1: 7:56
I2: 7:52
I3: 7:45
I4: 7:50
I5: 7:37
I6: 8:15
I7: 7:33
I8: 7:44
I9: 9:00
I10: 7:47

 

Thursday I hit the elliptical and treadmill for a total of 2.77 miles in 30 minutes. The treadmill portion was done with no walking breaks! That’s the theme this week, why walk when your IT band will let you run?

 

Friday I headed outside for 3.04 miles in 34 minutes with a slow 11:25 avg pace. But it was still fine with me. This is an easy day, therefore supposed to be easy! Saturday it snowed, typical March in like a lamb out like a lion!

 

IMG_3018

 

It was brutal out all day so instead of risking my life for my planned run I had a tomato and red pepper omelette and caught up on Game of Thrones!

 

IMG_3016

 

That night I decided it was a good idea to drink too many glasses of wine and go dancing. Then Sunday morning I decided to go sweat the wine out at body pump THEN run. Forcing myself to run on hungover legs that had just did 4 million squats. GREAT IDEA! Needless to say this run was not my best performance of the week, I did 4 miles in 44 minutes. This was a 5, 4, 3, 2, 1 minute interval workout with a goal of 8:30 during intervals 5 & 4 and 7:55 during 3, 2 & 1. I only made my goal once during the last interval where I laid down and literally yelled at myself to GO!

5 min: 8:41
4 min: 9:16
3 min: 9:36
2 min: 8:51
1 min: 7:47

2012-04-01 16.45.42

 

It may have been a sucky run but it sure was pretty out! Truly I loved this week, it was the first time in a long time I felt great! Smile Now on to this week’s plan, does it count as a plan if it’s already started?

Type Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday  Sunday
Run (Minutes)   35 min 35 min 15 min 40 min  30 min   
Elliptical / Arc (Min) 30 min     20 min      
Class      Body Pump   Body Pump    

 

I had to run on the treadmill today because of the weather and it’s looking like I will again tomorrow. Can it just be summer now? I am over winter!! I also need to get back into yoga asap. I will make sure to make yoga at least once next week!

 

How was your training week?

Anyone still having winter weather? Just us?

What’s your favourite Saturday morning breakfast?

4 thoughts on “Training Recap and Plan April 2–8

Leave a Reply

