Review: Mile Markings

I read this book, over the course of 2 days. I simply could not put it down. I found though I live a very different life from the book’s author that I could relate a lot to what she wrote about. She is a mother of three children and very experienced runner,  I am childless and just at the beginning of my hopefully long running career. Though there was a universal reach in a lot of what she wrote about, because as women who run, we all have a lot in common.

 

mile-markers-26-2-most-important-reasons-why-kristin-armstrong-hardcover-cover-art

 

The chapters are broken down into the 26.2 reasons why women run. Each section had small stories within it it, almost like reading a blog. Probably one of the reasons I loved the book from the first sentence! Smile While this is a book on running it also covers various other topics. I want to share with you a few of my favourite quotes from my favourite sections:

 

On Freedom: Running is the one thing that allows me to be everything I need to be for everyone else and not resent it.With so many time constraints and limits and rules and routines in the hectic pace of daily life, we need another place where we can set our own pace, even if it’s just for 5 miles. We need a simple and acceptable route to freedom. We need to shake it off.

Boy could I ever relate to that! If I don’t fit a workout into my life for a few days, watch out! I literally turn into a different person. I am irritable and generally just not fun to be around. Running and exercise allows me to shake it off and take time for myself. If I don’t get that into my day I am of no good to anyone around me.

 

On Hills: I will give less energy to dread. I will trust my training. I will do my best not to be afraid.

I am trying more and more lately to not be afraid when it comes to speed and hills. I am trying to push myself outside of my comfort zone. I always have had an issue with this but more and more I am challenging my own worries and just going for it. You get out of it what you put into to it.

 

On Balance: I am realizing that when I put my energy into the things I already designated as priorities, it seems like everything falls into proper order. Contentment resides in the sweet spot of doing the right things with our best effort and energy available in the moment – and being comfortable with the fact that this changes.

Life is a balancing act – but I do find that when I make time for the things that are most important everything tends to go a little smoother! Smile 

 

I adored this book, if you haven’t read it check it out asap!

 

 

If you’ve read Mile Markers what are your thoughts?

Do you relate to any of my favourite quotes?

2 thoughts on “Review: Mile Markings

Leave a Reply

