A Week In Running

I am past due for a training update … my apologies. I had a bad week last week! The running went great the cross-training did not. I have had an awful lack of motivation lately, running is coming mostly easy but the rest of it not so much. I won’t say much about last week except to say that I am glad it is done!! Smile 

 

2011-08-20 13.20.35

I can’t WAIT for weather like this!

 

 

This week I decided I needed to shake things up, I decided me and my friend the elliptical needed to take a break. It was to the point that I was dreading getting on it and what’s the point in that? Cross-training is super important so I decided to switch things up and tomorrow I’ll be heading back to spinning. I am super excited for a change in pace! I also switched up my running route this week. I have been running in a new area around work that I really like and get this, I have been running up the hills on this route. I enjoy a good hill challenge!

 

I always find March to be a rough month, close enough to spring that you can taste it but still too cold to believe winter is over. I guess my lack of fitness motivation is spilling over into the blog. I’ve been MIA a lot lately but I am going back on a regular blogging schedule now that my motivation is returning, slowly but surely!

 

I discussed race options with my friend the running coach last week as an effort to kick start my motivation and it looks like my first race will my a June 8K. I am not back in racing shape yet so no April race for sure, we’ll see what May brings. I’ll be getting back into regular training in about 2 weeks. Currently I am in the post-injury return to running phase. It’s been great but I am ready for a challenge! Bring it. Smile

 

I am going to leave you with this quote that sums up my last couple of weeks well, from Kristin Armstrong’s Mile Markers:

 

“Running is no different then any other close relationship. We have our fair share of love/hates. We have our times of passion and our times of plateau. We have times of connectedness and times of parallel lives. We have times of courting and times of commitment. Like all significant relationships, we have to nurture and respect the union if we want it to stand the test of time. Like all significant relationships, it is always worth the effort”

edit

Anyone else have issues with motivation in March?

How is your training going?

When is your next race?

How do you shake up your routine?

2 thoughts on “A Week In Running

  1. Great blog.I always find it useful to set a goal or a race, the tell as many people about it as possible, then if I feel slack, I still train as I kinda feel like I would be letting everyone down…

Leave a Reply

