What I Ate Wednesday #11

Only in Newfoundland can you go from this (picture from yesterday’s run):

 

2012-03-06 07.32.09

 

To this in just 24 short hours (picture from today’s run):

 

2012-03-07 17.54.28

 

We had a massive 22cm dropped on us overnight. Combined with wind we were buried this morning! So I decided to stay safe (and warm) and work from home. I was actually really productive. The sun came out in the afternoon so around 5:30 I decided not to waste the remaining minutes of daylight and headed out for a run. It was cold and the roads weren’t in great condition but I still enjoyed it.

 

And now it’s time for the WIAW party! Smile  This week WIAW is going GREEN! Smile I didn’t have a very green day of eats this week, hopefully I’ll do better next week!

 

 

I started my day with baked oatmeal – no bananas on this batch! I had sunflower butter on top and it was delicious.
 

IMG_2973

 

For lunch I had breakfast number 2, eggs and toast! Breakfast is my favourite meal of the day after all. After lunch I had my latest creation – peanut butter banana granola bars (recipe below), you need to make these asap. They are sooo good!

 

IMG_2989

 

Peanut Butter Banana Granola Bars (Makes 10)

  • 2 cups oats
  • 1/2 cup natural peanut butter
  • 3 tbsp ground flax + 1/4 water
  • 4 scoops protein
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 cup chocolate chips
  • 1 tbsp vanilla extract
  • 1/3 cup honey
  • 1 mashed banana
  • Cooking spray

 

Heat oven to 375 degrees. Mix water and flax and set aside. Mix oats, protein, baking powder, and salt. In a separate bowl mix peanut butter, flax mixture, vanilla extract, honey and banana. Mix dry ingredients and wet ingredients, add in chocolate chips and mix well. Spray square pan with cooking spray and flatten mixture into pan smoothing with a spoon to ensure the bars are flat. Bake 15 minutes and allow to cool before cutting into 10 even bars. Wrap individually in plastic wrap and store in the fridge. I usually make these on Sunday and we eat them all week.

 

For dinner I had bruschetta and chicken meatball soup, a warm meal on a cold day!

 

IMG_2977

 

Favourite granola bar? Other then homemade my favourite are cliff bars!

Favourite cold weather meal?

Do you still have snow or has spring started?

9 thoughts on “What I Ate Wednesday #11

Leave a Reply

