What I Ate Wednesday

So I figured I’d jump on the bandwagon and participate in WIAW as a way to expand and improve my blog. I really enjoyed my me for a day post about what I ate last week so I figured this would be a nice way to continue with that as well as meet some other bloggers who are participating!

I started my day off with an egg white sandwich on a whole wheat english muffin and a glass of OJ. All un-pictured, WIAW fail (I decided at lunch I was participating so next week will improve). After eating I headed out for a run that consisted of –3 Celsius temperatures combined with a dead iPod and no GPS connection (#firstworldproblems) I was pretty cranky. By the time I was done though I felt great and was glad I did it. But holy cold! After grabbing a coffee and heading to work I had a strawberry greek yogurt around mid-morning.

IMG_2724

For lunch I had chicken tortilla soup (I added a chipotle pepper, used toasted flour tortilla on top, and nixed the hominy and poblano pepper) so good! On the side I had carrots and hummus and a piece of dark chocolate. I finished it off with a black coffee, winter carnival flavour!

IMG_2726

In the afternoon I had a chocolate almond cliff bar. For dinner I had what I’d loosely call a recipe. It was more like throw it in the slow cooker and hope for the best!

Slow Cooker Chicken Pasta (Serves 3 – 4)

  • 8 Boneless skinless chicken thighs
  • 1 Can of organic mushrooms
  • 1 jar of pasta sauce
  • fresh black pepper
  • 2 – 3 cups kamut pasta (lots of protein)
  • 1/2 cup light mozzarella cheese

Throw chicken in slow cooker and season with black pepper, top with 1/2 jar pasta sauce and mushrooms. Cook on low 8 hours or high 3 – 4. Cook pasta according to directions, drain, and mix with remaining sauce. Top pasta with chicken and sprinkle with cheese.

IMG_2732

After dinner I had green tea and more of Mama Pea’s chocolate chip zucchini bread! Yum!

 

 

What did you eat this Wednesday? Do you participate in WIAW?

Share your favourite recipe with me!

6 thoughts on “What I Ate Wednesday

Leave a Reply

