Halloween Weekend

I absolutely love Halloween, the parties, costumes, and of course candy! What’s not to love? The last few years we have attended different Halloween events around town, mainly Bat Dance and Mardi  Gras (George Street shuts down for this event). Both are very fun but this year the idea of going to a crowded bar and trying to get cabs for hours just wasn’t appealing, to us or our friends. So a few weeks ago everyone said they didn’t have plans and just wanted to do a house party so we offered to host! The party was last night and we went all out on the decorations:

005

008

010

We even had some dry ice on hand for effect. Don’t worry the handler of the dry ice is a legit scientist!

066

Bruce and I went as Little Red Riding Hood and the wolf!

059

We had so much fun! Of course the most important aspect of any good party is the food. I used to buy lots of premade and frozen appetizers for parties. They’re always good but there’s nothing special about them! I always made my own cookies for parties so I decided this time to try making my own homemade appetizers. What always stopped me from doing it was the time needed to do it on the day of the party. I solved that problem by making some a few days before and freezing them. I made Eat Live Run’s Buffalo Chicken WonTons on Thursday and froze them. They were the biggest hit of the party! I could barely get out of the kitchen with them and they were gone. Everyone has asked for the recipe so if you are looking for a great party app make them! A little time consuming, but they are easy to make and so worth it! I also made candy corn sugar cookies also from Eat Live Run. So cute looking and really delicious as well.

016

The other main thing I made with this adorable and yummy pumpkin cheese ball. The look was inspired from several pictures I’ve seen on the internet but the recipe I created myself, well mostly I just mixed things in that I had on hand!

Pumpkin Cheese Ball (serves many!)

  • 2 packages of light cream cheese
  • 2 cups old cheddar cheese
  • 1/4 red pepper chopped finely
  • 3 green onions chopped (save one stalk)
  • 4 tbsp bacon crumble
  • 2 turkey pepperonis quartered

Mix cream cheese, 1.5 cups of the cheddar, red pepper, green onion and bacon well. Refrigerate for at least an hour. Shape into a pumpkin like shape and roll in remaining cheese. Decorate with the green onion as a stalk and pepperoni for eyes, nose, and mouth! Refrigerate until ready to serve. I served mine with wheat thins but any crackers, chips, or veggies work! Everyone loved this one as well, plus it doesn’t have to be a pumpkin if you wanted to use it say at Christmas which I totally will be!

2011-10-29 14.50.22

What did you dress up as for Halloween?

How did you celebrate?

Any fun recipes you’d like to share?

5 thoughts on “Halloween Weekend

  1. That looks like a great time!!! We didn’t celebrate Halloween this year by dressing up or going to parties but we did carve pumpkins which is a tradition for us. I think we might throw a little house party next year which would be fun! My favourite part about Halloween is the cool costumes people come up with!

    • We actually just finished up carving our pumpkin, surprisingly this was our first time carving a pumpkin but I really enjoyed it. Seeing everyone’s costumes was so much fun, some people are so creative. A few highlights of costumes were Miss. Piggy and Kermit, bacon and eggs, and we even had someone in a full suit dress up as the Six Flags man! Really creative!

  2. Pingback: A Spooky Time « The Balance Project

Leave a Reply

