How Do You Solve A Problem Like Maria?

You make soup! Yesterday we had our first real brush with a hurricane this season. Hurricane Maria was category 1 when it made landfall off the southeast coast. Many of the schools and businesses closed around town but the brunt of Maria hit outside town. I worked all day but when I came home it was still blowing a gale and raining. A perfect stay home and ride out the weather kind of evening. I secretly love storm / snow days, though I prefer summer weather, occasionally there’s nothing like spending the day and night at home reading, watching movies, and cooking up something delicious. So even though it wasn’t a storm day for me technically…that’s exactly what I did. This is not your average chicken noodle soup, it has a spicy twist that takes this comfort food to a whole new & healthy level.

 

Chicken Noodle Soup (Serves 4 – 6)

  • 2 chicken breasts (boneless skinless)
  • 1 carton reduced sodium chicken broth
  • 1 carton reduced sodium beef broth
  • 2 cups chopped organic baby carrots
  • 1/2 yellow onion minced
  • 1 green pepper chopped small
  • 2 cloves garlic minced
  • 2 cups small whole wheat pasta
  • 1 bay leaf
  • Red pepper flakes to taste
  • Fresh black pepper to taste
  • 1 tbsp EVOO

 

I started with my chicken frozen wrapped it in tinfoil and baked it on 400 degrees. I did a couple extra breasts with it to have cooked chicken on hand when I need it. This is a great idea for the weeknight rush. While the chicken was cooking I heated the olive oil and then cooked the green pepper, garlic, and onion for 5 minutes. After which I added in the broth, carrot, bay leaf, red pepper flakes, and black pepper. I brought it to a boil then allowed it to simmer 25 minutes.

 

017

 

After 25 minutes I added in  the small pasta (I used fusilli)  and chopped chicken. The chicken had cooked by this time if you include the time I spent chopping everything. Baking the chicken in this manner keeps it moist for the soup. Let the soup simmer another 15 minutes, remove the bay leaf, then serve!

 

021

Do you love storm days? What’s your favourite comfort food?

Leave a Reply

