An Ode to Side Dishes

I haven’t mentioned it on here but I have been in a cooking rut for a while now. I feel like every week I cook the same things over and over again. I am bored with cooking and need to spice it up. The area of cooking that has been most boring as of late has been side dishes. I have had potatoes in every form and I am sick of them so I decided to change things up.

 

Cheesy Broccoli Rice (Serves 4)

  • 1 head of broccoli chopped
  • 1 cup long grain rice
  • 1/2 cup old cheddar cheese shredded
  • 2 cups vegetable broth
  • Fresh black pepper to taste.

Bring broth to a boil, add rice, and broccoli then cover partially while reducing heat to medium. Allow to cook until all liquid is absorbed and broccoli is cooked (10 – 15 minutes) add cheese and stir until melted, top with fresh black pepper. This side is so simple but so good, unlike instant rice it has real fresh ingredients! I feel like this is the start of moving out of the cooking rut!

 

022

What’s your favourite side dish? I love new recipes so share away!!

Leave a Reply

