A Weekend Around the Harbour

We left town yesterday to head around the bay, where Bruce is from, Fox Harbour. It’s Fox Harbour Festival weekend – a weekend of plays, dances, and carnivals. Last night we went to a play and headed home early because I knew I had a 40 minute run planned this morning. So I got up this morning and went for my run around the harbour with Bruce’s brother-in-law. It was the first time I have ever gone on a run with anyone in a long long time. It’s usually just just me and my iPod. Anyways it was a tough hilly 3.56 miles and without him I probably wouldn’t have stuck with my speed plan. Anyways it was a great day for running – low temperatures and overcast, here’s a few pictures from my run:

2011-07-30 11.53.39

 

2011-07-30 12.23.14

 

So when we came back from our run this is what was waiting for us. Fresh bread right out of the oven, Bruce’s mom is the most AMAZING cook!

003

Anyways that bread is basically all I have eaten since then because shortly after I returned from my run I got sick and have been ever since. Either I ate something that didn’t agree with me or I have a stomach bug. I am leaning towards a bug because it just hasn’t let up since and now I am stuck at the house while everyone is at the dance. However, because of that I have time to share this next recipe with you! Toutons are a Newfoundland traditional food that are typically served for breakfast. There is nothing healthy about this food at all but everything in moderation! : )

Toutons

  • White bread dough
  • Butter / margarine
  • Dipping sauces: molasses or maple syrup

 

Melt butter or margarine in a large frying pan until pan is coated. Tear dough into 3 or 4 inch size pieces and flatten them as you lay them on the pan. Fry them for 3 or 4 minutes each side over medium heat until golden brown. Serve hot with dipping sauce!

004

Hopefully my stomach is feeling better for the carnival tomorrow! : )

Leave a Reply

